Ryde – NSW 2019

LIB 11.5%

Incumbent MP
Victor Dominello, since 2008.

Northern Sydney. The seat of Ryde includes a majority of the City of Ryde, including the suburbs of Ryde, Denistone, Eastwood, Marsfield, Macquarie Park, Meadowbank, North Ryde and West Ryde.

The first seat of Ryde was created at the 1894 election. It has existed at various times since then. It was abolished in 1904 and restored in 1913. In 1920 it was expanded to become a five-member district, before that was reversed in 1927. It was abolished again in 1968 and restored in 1981. It was again abolished in 1991 and restored finally in 1999.

From 1927 to 1968, Ryde alternated between being held by the ALP and the United Australia/Liberal Party.

When Ryde was restored in 1981, it was won by Labor MP Garry McIlwaine. McIlwaine had won the Liberal seat of Yaralla in 1978, before it was abolished in the 1981 redistribution. He held Ryde until 1988, when he was defeated by Liberal candidate Michael Photios.

Ryde was abolished in 1991, and Photios moved to the new seat of Ermington. He served as a minister in the Coalition government from 1993 to 1995.

At the 1999 election, Ryde was again restored. It covered much of the abolished seats of Gladesville, Ermington and Eastwood. Photios ran against John Watkins, the Labor Member for Gladesville. Watkins had won Gladesville off the Liberal Party in 1995. Watkins defeated Photios, gaining a 6.6% margin.

Watkins was appointed to the ministry in 1999, and quickly moved up the ranks of the ALP. Watkins became Deputy Premier in 2005 when Bob Carr and Andrew Refshauge.

Watkins increased his margin to over 65% in 2003, and maintained a 60% margin in 2007. In 2008, Morris Iemma resigned as Premier after losing the support of party figures. Following his decision, Watkins announced his retirement.

By-elections were held in Ryde, Port Macquarie, Lakemba and Cabramatta in October 2008. The ALP lost Ryde with a 23.1% swing, which was a record swing at any by-election in modern NSW history. The second-biggest swing was recorded in Cabramatta on the same day. Both were surpassed by the Penrith by-election in 2010. Ryde was won by former Ryde councillor and Liberal candidate Victor Dominello.

Dominello was re-elected in 2011 and 2015, and has served as a minister since the Coalition won power in 2011.


  • Julie Worsley (Christian Democrats)
  • Sophie Khatchigian (Keep Sydney Open)
  • Mark Larsen (Sustainable Australia)
  • Victor Dominello (Liberal)
  • Jerome Laxale (Labor)
  • Steve Busch (Conservatives)
  • Lindsay Peters (Greens)
  • Christopher De Bruyne (Liberal Democrats)
  • Assessment
    Ryde is a reasonably safe Liberal seat.

    2015 result

    Victor Dominello Liberal 25,95053.7-8.5
    Jerome Laxale Labor 13,95828.9+11.7
    Justin Alick Greens 5,54811.5+1.9
    Julie WorsleyChristian Democrats2,0344.2+0.1
    Joe CacciottiNo Land Tax8061.7+1.7

    2015 two-party-preferred result

    Victor Dominello Liberal 27,51661.5-13.7
    Jerome Laxale Labor 17,21538.5+13.7

    Booth breakdown

    Booths in Ryde have been split into three parts: east, north and west.

    The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 60.1% in the west to 62.8% in the east.

    The Greens primary vote ranged from 10.1% in the east to 13.1% in the north.

    Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Other votes12.361.810,31921.4

    Election results in Ryde at the 2015 NSW state election
    Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

    Become a Patron!


    1. Ryde was called Fuller from 1968 until 1981 when it was renamed Ryde.
      Peter Coleman (Liberal) held Fuller from 1968 until he was defeated by Rodney Cavalier (Labor) in 1978. Cavalier became member for Gladesville in 1981.

    2. Fuller included much more of the current Lane Cove than it does of the current Ryde. It’s successor seat at the 1981 redistribution was Gladesville. Prior to 1981, Top Ryde, West Ryde, Meadowbank, Denistone and Concord comprised the electorate of Yaralla. In 1981, Yaralla lost Concord to Burwood and Ermington was added to compensate, necessitating the name change to Ryde. It would more accurately have been called West Ryde. The current configuration were established in 1999 and dropped Ermington but included areas that used to be in Eastwood (Eastwood and Marsfield) and only a relatively small portion of the former Gladesville (Macquarie Park and the area east of Lane Cove Road).

    3. There was a sizeable correction in the seat at the last election. This election should decide what is the natural position for the Liberal Party in this seat.

      It has been hotly fought but I think Dominello might have just got the jump to retain the seat after picking up a stay on the Ice Rink at the Macquarie Centre. This will come back up but the application of a temporary heritage listing for the Ice Rink gives the owners a 2 year stay to work with the Centre. It’s not a complete win but it is being recorded as a step in the right direction.

    4. Likely Liberal hold, unless Labor are winning a reasonably large victory. Expect a good swing to Labor here.

    5. same boundaries in good alp climate 1999 2003 2007 john Watkins won 10 to 15% majorities …… can swing massively another competitive seat


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here