Ku-ring-gai – NSW 2019

LIB 23.0%

Incumbent MP
Alister Henskens, since 2015.

Northern Sydney.  Ku-ring-gai covers western parts of Ku-ring-gai local government area, and a small part of Hornsby Shire. It covers the suburbs of Wahroonga, Warrawee, Turramurra, Normanhurst, West Pymble, and parts of Gordon, Killara and St Ives.

The district of Ku-ring-gai has existed since 1973, and it has always been held by the Liberal Party.

It was first won in 1973 by John Maddison. Maddison had been Member for Hornsby since 1962, and Minister for Justice since 1965. He continued serving as a minister until the government lost power in 1976. He retired in 1980.

The 1980 Ku-ring-gai by-election was won by Liberal candidate Nick Greiner. He had previously attempted unsuccessfully to win the seat of Willoughby at the 1978 election. Greiner became Liberal leader in 1983, and at the 1984 election he substantially reduced the ALP government’s majority in the Assembly.

Greiner led the Liberal-National coalition to victory with a massive landslide at the 1988 election. He won re-election in 1991, but without a majority in the Assembly. He was forced to resign in 1992 over accusations of corrupt behaviour.

Stephen O’Doherty won the 1992 Ku-ring-gai by-election for the Liberal Party. He was re-elected in 1995.

Prior to the 1999 election, the boundaries for the area were redrawn, with Ku-ring-gai moving south, and the seat of Hornsby being restored in areas previously included in Ku-ring-gai. O’Doherty moved to Hornsby, while the member for the abolished seat of Northcott, Barry O’Farrell, moved to Ku-ring-gai. O’Doherty held Hornsby until his retirement in 2002.

O’Farrell had been State Director of the NSW Liberal Party from 1992 to 1995, when he won the seat of Northcott. O’Farrell was appointed to the Opposition frontbench in 1998, and after the 1999 election he was elected Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party.

When Kerry Chikarovski was replaced as leader by John Brogden in 2002, O’Farrell was also replaced as Deputy Leader, but he was restored to the role after the 2003 election.

After Peter Debnam led the Coalition to another election defeat in 2007, O’Farrell was elected as Liberal leader.

Barry O’Farrell led the Coalition through the last term of the Labor government, and in 2011 was elected Premier after a landslide to the Coalition.

O’Farrell resigned as Liberal leader and Premier in April 2014. He retired from Ku-ring-gai in 2015, and was succeeded by Alister Henskens.


Ku-ring-gai is a very safe Liberal seat.

2015 result

Alister Henskens Liberal 30,29462.5-10.3
David Armstrong Labor 7,92716.4+8.5
Pippa Mcinnes Greens 7,65015.8+1.9
John ArcherChristian Democrats1,3752.8+0.7
Len GervayNo Land Tax1,1922.5+2.5

2015 two-party-preferred result

Alister Henskens Liberal 31,95473.0-13.9
David Armstrong Labor 11,83227.0+13.9

Booth breakdown

Booths in Ku-ring-gai have been split into three parts: north-east, north-west and south.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 66% in the north-west to 78.1% in the north-east.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 14.7% in the north-east to 17.3% in the north-west.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes16.172.011,54123.8

Election results in Ku-ring-gai at the 2015 NSW state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!


  1. The Greens candidate will appear on the ballot paper as QiuYue (Viki) Zhang, it’s a little awkward but the NSWEC requires QiuYue be the name as that is on official documents, however like many Australians she goes by another name socially for the ease of not having to constantly have people trip over your name.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here