South Brisbane – QLD 2017

ALP 13.8%

Incumbent MP
Jackie Trad, since 2012.


Central Brisbane. South Brisbane covers suburbs in on the south side of the Brisbane River in central Brisbane, specifically West End, Highgate Hill, Kangaroo Point, East Brisbane, South Brisbane, Woolloongabba and Dutton Park.

South Brisbane lost its eastern edge, including Stones Corner and the remainder of Greenslopes and Coorparoo, to the seat of Greenslopes. There were also some changes to the southern boundary with the seat of Miller. These changes did not affect the Labor margin.

The seat of South Brisbane has existed continuously since 1860. The seat has been won by the ALP at almost all elections since 1915.

The seat was once held by Premier Vince Gair from 1932 to 1960. He was expelled in 1957 and formed the Queensland Labor Party, and later served as a Democratic Labor Party Senator from 1964 to 1973.

The ALP held the seat from 1960 to 1974. The seat was held by the Liberal Party for one term from 1974 to 1977 and has been held by the ALP since 1977.

Jim Fouras won the seat in 1977, and held it until 1986, when he lost ALP preselection to Anne Warner. He later held the seat of Ashgrove from 1989 to 2006, serving as Speaker from 1990 to 1996.

Warner had previously won the seat of Kurilpa in 1983, but her original seat was abolished in 1986. She served as a minister in the Goss government until her retirement in 1995.

South Brisbane has been held by Anna Bligh since 1995. Bligh became a minister in the new Beattie government in 1998. In 2005, she became Deputy Premier, and succeeded Peter Beattie as Premier in 2007. She won another term as Premier in 2009.

In 2012, Anna Bligh led the ALP to a massive defeat, with the party losing all but seven seats. Bligh held on in South Brisbane by a 4.7% margin, after a swing to the LNP of over 10%.

Bligh resigned from her seat immediately after the election. Labor’s Jackie Trad won the following by-election by a slim 1.7% margin. Trad was re-elected in 2015, and has served as deputy premier since the 2015 election.


  • Karel Boele (Independent)
  • Jackie Trad (Labor)
  • Cameron Murray (Independent)
  • Amy MacMahon (Greens)
  • Karagh-Mae Kelly (Independent)
  • Simon Quinn (Liberal National)
  • Frank Jordan (Independent)

Labor is at no risk of losing South Brisbane to the Liberal National Party. The seat is a top target for the Greens, who won the overlapping Brisbane City Council ward of The Gabba in 2016.

2015 election result

Jackie Trad Labor 12,35542.7+4.242.0
Fiona Ward Liberal National 9,32132.2-5.932.6
Jonathan Sri Greens 6,32021.8+3.822.4
Karel BoeleIndependent9303.2+1.33.1

2015 two-party-preferred result

Jackie Trad Labor 17,69763.8+9.163.8
Fiona Ward Liberal National 10,04536.2-9.136.2

Booth breakdown

Booths in South Brisbane have been divided into three areas: north, south and west.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas. Labor won only 55% in the north, but polled over 70% in the other two areas.

The Greens vote ranged from 18% in the north to almost 29% in the west.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes20.059.89,54940.9

Election results in South Brisbane at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.