Logan – QLD 2017

ALP 5.9%

Incumbent MP
Linus Power, since 2015.

South-East Queensland. The seat of Logan covers a series of suburbs in Logan City, specifically Regents Park, Heritage Park, Park Ridge, Munruben, Logan Village, Jimboomba, Yarrabilba and Wolffdene.

Logan shifted south, losing Browns Plains to Algester and neighbouring areas to Woodridge. Logan also lost an area around Undullah at the south-western corner to the seat of Jordan, and gained areas at its eastern edge from Albert and areas at its southern edge from Beaudesert. These areas included Jimboomba, Yarrabilba and Wolffdene. These changes cut the Labor margin from 10.8% to 6.3%.

The seat of Logan was first created in 1873. It was abolished in 1950, restored in 1960, abolished again in 1972, and restored finally in 1986. It has been held by ALP members since 1969, with the exception of one term from 2012 to 2015.

When Logan was restored in 1986, Wayne Goss won the seat for the ALP. He had won the seat of Salisbury in 1983.

Goss became Leader of the Opposition in 1988 and in 1989 led the ALP to victory, becoming Premier of Queensland.

He was re-elected in 1992 and won another term by a slim margin in 1995. The ALP won a one-seat majority at the 1995 election, and lost this majority when the result in Mundingburra was overturned and the Liberal Party won the ensuing by-election in 1996. This resulted in the Goss government losing power.

Goss resigned as ALP leader and returned to the backbench. He retired in 1998.

John Mickel won Logan in 1998. He was appointed to the ministry in 2004 and served as a minister until 2009. He served as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 2009 until his retirement in 2012.

In 2012, Liberal National Party candidate Michael Pucci defeated Labor candidate Linus Power with an 18.7% swing. Power came back and won the seat in 2015.


Logan will likely remain in Labor hands.

2015 election result

Linus Power Labor 13,83951.7+18.445.7
Michael Pucci Liberal National 9,26734.6-6.437.6
Kim Southwood Greens 1,6546.2+0.86.8
David PelloweFamily First1,0984.1+4.12.8
Daniel MurphyIndependent5232.0+2.01.1
Peter ErvikIndependent3931.5+1.50.8
Palmer United Party2.4
One Nation1.8

2015 two-party-preferred result

Linus Power Labor 15,34660.8+15.655.9
Michael Pucci Liberal National 9,88439.2-15.644.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Logan have been divided into three areas: central, north and south.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 52% in the south to 62% in the north.


Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes53.48,34329.3

Two-party-preferred in Logan at the 2015 QLD state election

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.