Moore – WA 2021

NAT 14.7% vs LIB

Incumbent MP
Shane Love, since 2013.

Moore is a large regional electorate covering agricultural areas north of Perth. The seat includes rural areas around Geraldton, but excluding Geraldton itself. The seat covers the entirety of fourteen local government areas, and parts of two others.

Moore covers the towns of Kalbarri, Northampton, Nabawa, Mullewa, Dongara, Irwin, Mingenew, Morawa, Three Springs, Perenjori, Carnamah, Eneabba, Leeman, Coorow, Jurien Bay, Cervantes, Badgingarra, Dandaragan, Moora, Dalwallinu, Lancelin, Ledge Point, Guilderton, Gingin, Bindoon, Calingiri and Toodyay.

Moore lost Kalbarri to North West Central and gained Dowerin, Goomalling and Wongan-Ballida council areas from Central Wheatbelt. These changes increased the Nationals margin from 13.9% to 14.7%.

Moore is a traditional Country/National seat that was held by the party from 1950 until the mid-1980s.

In 1985 the sitting National Country MP switched to the Liberal Party. The Liberals held the seat from 1985 until 2008. Bill McNee held the seat from 1989 until 2005.

The 2008 redistribution saw the abolition of the National-held seat of Greenough, and Moore effectively was redrawn to cover most of the two pre-existing electorates.

Grant Woodhams had won Greenough for the Nationals in 2005. Prior to his election, the Liberal Party had held the seat since 1945.

In 2008, Woodhams was pitted against Liberal Member for Moore Gary Snook. While Snook led on the primary vote (40% against 32%) he benefited from Labor preferences and won the seat with 53.1% of the vote after preferences.

Woodhams retired after one term, and he was succeeded by Nationals candidate Shane Love. Love was re-elected in 2017.


Moore is a safe Nationals seat.

2017 result

Shane Love Nationals 7,40634.9-2.236.8
Barni Norton Labor 4,42420.9+4.519.8
Darren Slyns Liberal 4,07919.2-19.818.9
James llyOne Nation2,76213.0+13.012.7
Ross WilliamsonShooters, Fishers & Farmers1,2385.8+5.85.8
Peter Leam Greens 8644.1-1.53.9
Wes PorterAustralian Christians4222.0+0.12.0
Informal 8764.0

2017 two-candidate-preferred result

Shane Love Nationals 13,53463.9+8.064.7
Darren Slyns Liberal 7,63836.1-8.035.3

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into four parts: central, east, north and south. The south is by far the most populous part of the seat.

The Nationals won a majority of the two-candidate-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 60.7% in the south to 78.6% in the east.

Labor came third, with a primary vote ranging from 11.7% in the east to 22.6% in the south.

One Nation came fourth, with a primary vote ranging from 8.6% in the east to 13.5% in the south.

Voter groupALP prim %ON prim %NAT 2CP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes19.413.563.75,14723.3

Election results in Moore at the 2017 WA state election
Toggle between two-candidate-preferred votes (Nationals vs Liberal), Labor primary votes and One Nation primary votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here