Cockburn – WA 2021

ALP 13.7%

Incumbent MP
Fran Logan, since 2001.

Southern Perth. The district includes the suburbs of Atwell, Cockburn Central, Yangebup, Munster, Beeliar, Success, and parts of Coogee. The district covers central parts of the City of Cockburn.

Cockburn lost part of Spearwood to Willagee and gained Atwell from Kwinana. These changes reduced the Labor margin from 15.9% to 13.7%.

Cockburn has existed continuously since 1962, and has always been held by Labor MPs.

Fran Logan won Cockburn in 2001. He served as a minister from 2005 until the ALP lost power in 2008. Logan has been re-elected four times.


  • Andrew Baker (Waxit)
  • Owen Mulder (Liberal)
  • Elspeth Taimre (No Mandatory Vaccination)
  • Igor Mironenko (One Nation)
  • Brian Murray (Liberal Democrats)
  • David Scaife (Labor)
  • Jesse Smith (Greens)

Cockburn is a safe Labor seat.

2017 result

Fran Logan Labor 12,46053.6+5.451.3
Lavin Raja-Yogam Liberal 6,38927.5-14.029.2
Shannon Hewitt Greens 2,0718.9+1.38.9
Steve PortelliIndependent1,1945.1+5.14.5
Edward RooseAustralian Christians5922.5+2.52.7
Connor McHughMicro Business2641.1+1.11.1
Erinn StanfieldFlux2641.1+1.11.0
Informal 1,3545.5

2017 two-party-preferred result

Fran Logan Labor 15,31165.9+11.363.7
Lavin Raja-Yogam Liberal 7,91134.1-11.336.3

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three parts: central, east and west.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 61.2% in the west to 70.6% in the centre.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes61.13,58315.6

Two-party-preferred votes in Cockburn at the 2017 WA state election


  1. This seat could use a name change. It used to cover most of Cockburn council, but now plenty of the council is in Jandakot, Fremantle or Willagee. I’d go with Beeliar.

  2. It could also do with some boundary changes – what an ugly seat! Would be good if the Parliament added in a few more seats so that the Commission didn’t have to make boundaries like this to get the quota in.

  3. Willagee’s even worse – four disconnected parts, with industrial area, lakes and Murdoch uni in between.

    The area east of the lakes and south of North Lake Rd would make a pretty compact and sensible electorate – Cockburn Central, Atwell, Success, Hammond Park, Aubin Grove, maybe Wandi (in Kwinana council) if the numbers allow. They’re all new suburbs strung out along the freeway and have more in common with each other than the older suburbs to the west and north.

    The western half of Cockburn would then end up in a seat with Spearwood and part of Hamilton Hill. That’d involve a major redrawing of Fremantle and Willagee as well.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here