Clayton – Victoria 2010

ALP 20.3%

Incumbent MP
Hong Lim, since 1996.

Southeastern Melbourne. Clayton covers the Cities of Greater Dandenong, Kingston and Monash, specifically the suburbs of Clarinda, Clayton, Clayton South and Notting Hill and parts of Bentleigh East, Heatherton, Huntingdale, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave, Oakleigh, Oakleigh South and Springvale.

Clayton has existed since the 1985 election, and it has always been won by the ALP.

Gerard Vaughan won the seat in 1985, he had previously held the seat of Glenhuntly since 1979. Vaughan held the seat until 1996.

In 1996, Clayton was won by Hong Lim, also of the ALP. He has been re-elected in 1999, 2002 and 2006.


Political situation
Clayton is a very safe Labor seat.

2006 result

Hong LimALP18,49662.19-4.23
Michael CartyLIB7,06423.75-0.70
Siobhan IsherwoodGRN2,7989.41+1.60
Emyr AdityaFF1,0063.38+3.38
Simon HallCEC3771.27+1.27

2006 two-candidate-preferred result

Hong LimALP20,88470.27-3.57
Michael CartyLIB8,83629.73+3.57

Booth breakdown
Booths in Clayton have been divided based on the three main suburbs: Clayton in the north, Clarinda in the southwest and Springvale in the southeast.

The ALP won a majority in all parts of the seat, varying from 65% in Clayton to 77% in Springvale.


Polling booths in Clayton at the 2006 state election. Clayton in blue, Springvale in yellow, Clarinda in green.
Voter groupGRN %ALP 2CP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes11.8964.756,07620.44
Two-party-preferred votes in Clayton at the 2006 state election.


Comments are closed.