Bulleen – Victoria 2010

LIB 8.4%

Incumbent MP
Nicholas Kotsiras, since 1999.

Eastern Melbourne. Bulleen covers western parts of the City of Manningham, specifically the suburbs of Bulleen, Lower Templestowe and Templestowe and parts of Doncaster and Doncaster East.

Bulleen was first created before the 1985 election. It has always been held by the Liberal Party. Bulleen was first won in 1985 by David Perrin. He served as a shadow minister from 1988 to 1991, but did not serve as a minister in the Kennett government. Perrin lost preselection at the 1999 election to Nicholas Kotsiras.

Kotsiras was re-elected in 2002 and 2006, and has served as a Liberal shadow minister since 2002.


Political situation
Bulleen is a safe Liberal seat.

2006 result

Nicholas KotsirasLIB16,51852.70+3.07
Neill CampbellALP10,52633.58-6.21
Fiona MackenzieGRN2,7198.68-1.91
Carmen TongFF1,5795.04+5.04

2006 two-candidate-preferred result

Nicholas KotsirasLIB18,18258.43+5.79
Neill CampbellALP12,93541.57-5.79

Booth breakdown
Booths in Bulleen have been divided into three areas: Templestowe in the centre of the seat and booths in the east and west.

The Liberal Party won a majority in all three areas, winning 59-60% in the centre and east of the seat, but only 53% in the west of the seat.


Polling booths in Bulleen at the 2006 state election. East in green, Templestowe in blue, West in yellow.
Voter groupGRN %LIB 2CP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes9.9862.036,60021.21
Two-party-preferred votes in Bulleen at the 2006 state election.


  1. From the voting patterns, you can clearly see the difference between the older, less affluent areas around Bulleen itself, and the New Rich, Brick Palace haven of Templestowe in the east.

    From memory, the 1999 pre-selection was very bitter, with lots of allegations of ethnic branch-stacking. Apparently the overlapping federal seat of Menzies has one of (if not the) highest proportions of people born overseas for a Liberal held seat.

  2. In ballot paper order, candidates are:

    Kevin Tan – Family First
    Fiona Mackenzie – Greens
    Ivan Reid – Labor
    Nicholas Kotsiras – Liberal
    Kelvin Eldridge –

Comments are closed.