Nelson – Tasmania LC 2019

Incumbent MLC
Jim Wilkinson, since 1999. Previously Member for Queenborough 1995-1999.

Nelson covers the southern fringe of the Hobart area and areas further south. Nelson covers Dynnyrne, Sandy Bay, Mount Nelson and Tolmans Hill in the City of Hobart, as well as Fern Tree, Taroona and Kingston in Kingborough council area.

Nelson shifted south, losing Ridgeway to Hobart and gaining an area just north of Blackmans Bay from Huon.

Nelson was first created at the 1999 redistribution. Jim Wilkinson, the independent member for Queensborough, was assigned to Nelson.

Wilkinson was re-elected in 2001 with 49% of the primary vote in a field of four candidates, and polled 58.6% on a two-candidate-preferred basis against Pru Bonham.

In 2007, Wilkinson only faced opposition from the Greens’ Tom Nilsson. Wilkinson won with 61.6% of the vote.

Wilkinson faced three opponents in 2013, winning 48.7% of the primary vote and easily outpolling his opponents.

Sitting MLC Jim Wilkinson is not running for re-election.

  • Vica Bayley
  • Lorraine Bennett (Shooters, Fishers and Farmers)
  • Deborah Brewer (Greens)
  • Blair Brownless
  • John (Polly) Farmer
  • Richard Griggs
  • Robert Manning
  • Madeleine Ogilvie
  • Nic Street (Liberal)
  • Meg Webb

This is an open race in what was a safe seat for Wilkinson.

2013 result

Jim WilkinsonIndependent8,84748.7
Tom BaxterGreens4,62725.5
Helen RichardsonIndependent3,20417.7
Hans WillinkIndependent1,4728.1

2013 result after distribution of preferences

Jim WilkinsonIndependent9,49452.3
Tom BaxterGreens4,85926.8
Helen RichardsonIndependent3,79720.9

Booth breakdown

Polling places in Nelson have been split into two parts based on the two local government areas: Hobart and Kingborough.

Sitting independent MLC Jim Wilkinson topped the primary vote in every areas, with 44% in Kingborough and 50% in Hobart. He polled a majority of the pre-poll and other vote categories.

The Greens’ Tom Baxter came second with a primary vote of 25.6% in Kingborough and 27.1% in Hobart.

Voter groupGreens %Wilkinson %Total votes% of votes
Other votes21.255.92,07011.4

Primary votes for independent Jim Wilkinson in Nelson at the 2013 Legislative Council election

Become a Patron!