Granville – NSW 2023

ALP 8.8%

Incumbent MP
Julia Finn, since 2015.

Western Sydney. Granville covers central parts of the Cumberland council area. Suburbs include Guildford, Guildford West, Granville, Merrylands, South Granville and South Wentworthville.

Granville shifted south, losing Clyde and part of Mays Hill to Parramatta, and losing the remainder of Greystanes and most of Wentworthville to Prospect. Granville then gained Guildford West, Woodpark and Yennora from Fairfield and South Granville and the remainder of Guildford from Auburn. These changes increased the Labor margin from 7.6% to 8.8%.


The seat of Granville was first created in 1894, when single-member electorates were introduced. The seat has existed ever since, except for three elections in the 1920s when Granville became part of the multi-member district of Parramatta. The ALP has held the seat continuously since 1938.

The seat was won in 1938 by Bill Lamb. Lamb participated in the second Lang Labor breakaway party from 1940 to 1941, but was loyal to the ALP after 1941. He served as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 1947 to 1959. In 1962 he lost Labor preselection and retired.

Lamb was defeated for preselection by Parramatta mayor Pat Laherty. He held the seat until his retirement in 1984.

Laherty was succeeded in 1984 by Laurie Ferguson. He held Granville until 1990, when he resigned to run for the federal seat of Reid. He held Reid until 2010, when he moved to the seat of Werriwa after a redistribution. He served as a frontbencher in the Labor opposition prior to 2007, then as a parliamentary secretary upon the election of the federal Labor government. He returned to the backbench after the 2010 election.

The 1990 Granville by-election was won by the ALP’s Kim Yeadon. He served as a minister in the Labor government from 1995 to 2003, and retired in 2007.

Granville was won in 2007 by Parramatta mayor David Borger, who served as a minister in the Labor government from 2008 to 2011.

In 2011, Borger was defeated by Liberal candidate Tony Issa. Issa himself was defeated in 2015 by Labor candidate Julia Finn. Finn was re-elected in 2019.


  • Charbel Saad (Independent)
  • Janet Castle (Greens)
  • Julia Finn (Labor)
  • Rohan Laxmanalal (Animal Justice)
  • John Hadchiti (Liberal Democrats)
  • Anm Masum (Liberal)
  • Assessment
    Granville is a reasonably safe Labor seat.

    2019 result

    Candidate Party Votes % Swing Redist
    Julia Finn Labor 22,012 49.8 +8.8 50.9
    Tony Issa Liberal 16,522 37.4 -0.3 36.1
    Benjamin Prociv Greens 1,638 3.7 -1.7 4.1
    Keith Piper Christian Democrats 1,631 3.7 -8.7 3.9
    Abdul Charaf Independent 740 1.7 +1.7 1.5
    Steven Lopez Independent 682 1.5 -0.4 1.2
    Rohan Laxmanalal Animal Justice 652 1.5 +1.5 1.1
    Linda Harris Independent 314 0.7 +0.7 0.6
    Others 0.7
    Informal 2,154 4.6

    2019 two-party-preferred result

    Candidate Party Votes % Swing Redist
    Julia Finn Labor 23,629 57.6 +5.5 58.8
    Tony Issa Liberal 17,365 42.4 -5.5 41.2

    Booth breakdown

    Booths in Granville have been split into three parts: north, south-east and south-west.

    Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, with 58.2% in the east and north, and 61% in the south.

    Voter group ALP 2PP % Total votes % of votes
    East 58.2 13,573 27.6
    North 58.2 10,800 21.9
    South 61.0 6,282 12.8
    Other votes 58.0 11,198 22.7
    Pre-poll 60.0 7,408 15.0

    Election results in Granville at the 2019 NSW state election
    Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for Labor and the Liberal Party.

    Become a Patron!


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here