Liverpool – NSW 2019

ALP 20.9%

Incumbent MP
Paul Lynch, since 1995.

South-Western Sydney. The seat covers the Liverpool CBD and parts of the City of Liverpool to the west of the Liverpool centre, including the suburbs of Ashcroft, Cartwright, Green Valley, Hinchinbrook, Horningsea Park, Hoxton Park, Miller and Warwick Farm.

The electoral district of Liverpool has existed since the 1950 election. It has always been held by the Labor Party.

The seat was first won in 1950 by then-Premier James McGirr. He had sat in the Legislative Assembly since 1922, most recently as Member for Bankstown.

McGirr retired in 1952, and the Liverpool by-election was won by Jack Mannix. He became a minister in the Labor government in 1960, serving as Justice Minister until the government’s defeat in 1965.

Mannix retired in 1971, and he was replaced by Liverpool councillor George Paciullo. Paciullo served as a minister from 1983 to 1988. When Labor lost power in 1988 he was considered a contender for party leader, but following Carr’s appointment, he retired in 1989.

The 1989 by-election saw a bitter preselection battle between Paul Lynch and Mark Latham. This was resolved by preselecting former Health Minister Peter Anderson. Anderson had held Nepean from 1978 to 1981, and Penrith from 1981 until a shock loss at the 1988 election. He had held ministerial office since 1982.

Anderson won the by-election in 1989, and was considered a possible future leader of the ALP. He failed to gain the support of local Labor members, and in 1995 lost preselection to Paul Lynch.

Lynch won the seat in 1995, and has been re-elected five times. Following the 2007 election he was appointed as a minister in the Labor government. Lynch served as a minister until the 2011 election.


Liverpool is a very safe Labor seat.

2015 result

Paul Lynch Labor 27,26460.2+9.2
Mazhar Hadid Liberal 10,72823.7-4.2
Matt AttiaChristian Democrats3,6278.0+1.5
Andre Bosch Greens 1,9474.3-0.9
Mick PezzanoNo Land Tax1,7533.9+3.9

2015 two-party-preferred result

Paul Lynch Labor 28,84270.9+6.9
Mazhar Hadid Liberal 11,84129.1-6.9

Booth breakdown

Booths in Liverpool has been split into four parts: Liverpool in the east, Green Valley in the west, Hoxton Park in the south-west and “Central”, including Ashcroft, Cartwright, Miller and Sadleir.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 63.3% in Hoxton Park to 77% in the centre.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Green Valley72.413,16229.0
Hoxton Park63.37,52816.6
Other votes68.98,66019.1

Two-party-preferred votes in Liverpool at the 2015 NSW state election

Become a Patron!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here