Charlestown – NSW 2019

ALP 12.9%

Incumbent MP
Jodie Harrison, since 2014.

Hunter region of NSW. Charlestown covers northeastern parts of the City of Lake Macquarie, just south of Newcastle. Suburbs include Charlestown, Gateshead, Kahibah, Redhead and Warners Bay. The electorate also covers the suburbs of Adamstown and Kotara in the City of Newcastle.

The seat of Charlestown was first created for the 1971 election. A change in redistribution rules saw the lower Hunter included in the central zone, leading to a loss of a Newcastle seat. Kahibah and Hamilton were merged and Charlestown was created in their place. Charlestown was held by the ALP continuously from its creation in 1971 until the 2011 election.

The first member for Charlestown was the ALP’s Jack Stewart, who had previously held the seat of Kahibah from 1957 until its abolition in 1971. He held the seat for 18 months until his death in 1972.

The 1972 by-election was won by the ALP’s Richard Face. He held the seat for the next thirty years until his retirement in 2003, serving as Minister for Gaming and Racing from 1995 to 2003.

In 2003, the seat was won by the ALP’s Matthew Morris. In 2007, Morris retained his seat with a 7% margin over Lake Macquarie councillor Paul Scarfe, running as an independent.

In 2011, Morris was defeated by Liberal candidate Andrew Cornwell, with a massive 25% primary vote swing to the Liberal Party, partly due to the absence of independent candidate Paul Scarfe.

Andrew Cornwell resigned first from the Liberal Party and then from Parliament in 2014 over accusations at the Independent Commission Against Corruption that he had accepted donations from a prohibited donor.

The 2014 by-election was won by Labor candidate Jodie Harrison, the Mayor of Lake Macquarie, with a 20% primary vote swing. Harrison was re-elected in 2015.


Charlestown is a safe Labor seat.

2015 result

Jodie Harrison Labor 23,58448.2+19.2
Jason Pauling Liberal 14,82130.3-12.7
Jane Oakley Greens 5,37811.0+1.9
Luke ArmsIndependent2,8305.8+5.8
Brian TuckerChristian Democrats1,0542.2FALSE
Arjay MartinIndependent7121.5+1.5
Tania MorvilloNo Land Tax5441.1+1.1

2015 two-party-preferred result

Jodie Harrison Labor 26,97662.9+22.1
Jason Pauling Liberal 15,91237.1-22.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Charlestown were split into three areas: central, north and south.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 59.6% in the north to 66.5% in the centre.

The Greens came third, with a primary vote ranging from 9.3% in the south to 13.8% in the north.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes12.563.47,64515.6

Election results in Charlestown at the 2015 NSW state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!


  1. I think there is a mistake in this one, I think it should read that Charlestown is a safe Labor seat.

    Liberals cannot even sort themselves out enough to choose a


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here