Holland Park – Brisbane 2020

Council margin – LNP 4.1%
Mayoral margin – LNP 6.5%

Incumbent councillor
Krista Adams, since 2016. Previously councillor for Wishart 2008-2016.

Southern Brisbane. Holland Park covers suburbs to the south, and slightly to the west, of the Brisbane city centre, including Holland Park, Tarragindi and Mount Gravatt.

Holland Park shifted north, losing its south-eastern corner to Chandler and the south-western corner to Moorooka, and gained part of Carina from Coorparoo. These changes cut the LNP margin from 4.8% to 4.1%.


Holland Park was won in 1997 by Labor candidate Kerry Rea. Rea had previously held Ekibin ward from 1991 to 1994. She held Holland Park until she resigned in 2007 and ran for the federal seat of Bonner which she won. Rea held Bonner for one term before losing in 2010.

After Rea’s resignation, the LNP’s Ian McKenzie won Holland Park with an 8.6% swing. McKenzie was re-elected in 2012 with a further 5.5% swing.

In 2016, a redistribution pushed Holland Park south to take in areas previously covered by the Wishart ward.

Wishart had been represented by Graham Quirk from at least 2000 until he shifted to the safer Macgregor ward in 2008, and was succeeded in Wishart by Krista Adams.

Adams was re-elected in 2012, and in 2016 she shifted to Holland Park, while Ian McKenzie won the new Coorparoo ward.

Quirk went on to become lord mayor of Brisbane, winning elections in 2012 and 2016, and Adams recently became deputy mayor following Quirk’s retirement.


Holland Park is a marginal ward, and could be vulnerable to Labor if they have a good election.

2016 council result

Krista Adams Liberal National 11,47649.6-5.549.0
Adam Obeid Labor 8,24635.7+1.936.2
Karen Anderson Greens 3,40914.7+3.614.4

2016 council two-party-preferred result

Krista Adams Liberal National 11,89754.8-16.654.1
Adam Obeid Labor 9,82045.2+16.645.9

2016 mayoral result

Graham Quirk Liberal National 11,92451.3-9.051.1
Rod Harding Labor 7,97834.3+7.734.7
Ben Pennings Greens 2,49210.7-0.310.7
Jeffrey HodgesIndependent3991.7+1.71.7
Karel BoelePeople Decide1970.9+0.90.9
Jim EldridgeIndependent1370.6+0.60.5
Jarrod WirthIndependent1030.4+0.40.4

2016 mayoral two-party-preferred result

Graham Quirk Liberal National 12,31856.9-7.956.5
Rod Harding Labor 9,34443.1+7.943.5

Booth breakdown

Booths in Holland Park have been split into three parts: east, south-west and north-west.

The LNP won a majority in all three areas, with support lowest in the east and highest in the north-west.

The Greens polled 13.6% in the east and over 15% in the other two areas.

Voter groupGRN council primLNP council 2PPLNP mayoral 2PPTotal votes% of votes
Other votes15.257.260.55,54322.3

Election results in Holland Park at the 2016 Brisbane City Council election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes for council and lord mayor, and Greens primary votes for council.

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here