Riverina – Australia 2022

NAT 19.5%

Incumbent MP
Michael McCormack, since 2010.

South-Western NSW. The seat stretches from Wagga Wagga and Lockhart in the south to Parkes and Forbes in the north, and also covers Cootamundra, Young, Cowra, Gundagai, Grenfell, Junee and Temora.

Riverina is an original federation electorate, although it was renamed as ‘Riverina-Darling’ from 1984 until 1993. It has been dominated by conservative parties, namely the Country/National Party since its emergence in the 1920s. Having said that, the ALP has managed to win the seat on a number of occasions, most recently in 1977.

The seat was first won in 1901 by Protectionist candidate John Chanter, who had been a member of the State Parliament since 1885. At the 1903 election, Free Trade candidate Robert Blackwood defeated Chanter by five votes. An appeal saw the result overturned, and Chanter won the ensuing by-election in 1904.

Chanter continued to serve as a Protectionist until 1909, when he refused to support the Fusion of conservative parties to form the Liberal Party, and instead joined the Labor Party. He managed to win reelection for the ALP in 1910, but lost his seat in 1913 to Liberal candidate Franc Falkiner. Chanter again managed to win the seat back in 1914, and Falkiner went on to serve one term as Member for Hume from 1917 to 1919.

Chanter left the ALP in 1916 over the issue of conscription and joined the new Nationalist Party. He held the seat for them until 1922, when he was defeated by William Killen, candidate for the new Country Party.

Killen held Riverina for the Country Party until his retirement in 1931, when he was succeeded by Horace Nock. Nock served as a Minister in the Menzies government in 1940, but lost his seat later that year to ALP candidate Joseph Langtry.

Langtry was re-elected in 1943 and 1946 before losing Riverina to the Country Party’s Hugh Roberton in 1949.

Roberton held Riverina for sixteen years. He was made Minister for Social Services in 1956, serving in that role until 1965, when he left Parliament to become Australia’s Ambassador to Ireland. The ensuing by-election was won by Adam Armstrong, who held the seat until 1969, when he lost to the ALP’s Al Grassby.

Grassby was appointed Minister for Immigration following the election of the Whitlam Labor government in 1972, and was a fierce advocate of multiculturalism in the role, however he failed to win reelection in 1974, losing Riverina to the Country Party’s John Sullivan.

Sullivan held Riverina for two terms, losing to the ALP’s John FitzPatrick in 1977. FitzPatrick lost in 1980 to the National Country Party’s Noel Hicks.

Hicks held Riverina for most of the next two decades. The seat was renamed Riverina-Darling in 1984 but reverted to its original name in 1993. Hicks retired in 1998, and the Nationals candidate Kay Hull retained the seat. Hull held the seat from 1998 until her retirement in 2010.

In 2010, Nationals candidate Michael McCormack was elected. The Liberal Party challenged for the Nationals seat, but only managed 16.5% and failed to overtake the Labor candidate. McCormack was re-elected in 2013 and 2016, and became Nationals leader and Deputy Prime Minister in early 2018. McCormack retained this role until June 2021, when he was replaced as party leader and as deputy prime minister.


  • Richard Orchard (One Nation)
  • Mark Jeffreson (Labor)
  • Daniel Martelozzo (United Australia)
  • Steve Karaitiana (Shooters, Fishers and Farmers)
  • Michael McCormack (Nationals)
  • Darren Ciavarella (Independent)
  • Dean McCrae (Liberal Democrats)
  • Michael Organ (Greens)
  • Assessment
    Riverina is a safe Nationals seat.

    2019 result

    Michael McCormack Nationals 60,49359.9+2.7
    Mark Jeffreson Labor 23,38023.2-2.4
    Richard FoleyUnited Australia Party10,81410.7+10.7
    Michael Bayles Greens 6,2546.2+1.7

    2019 two-party-preferred result

    Michael McCormack Nationals 70,13669.5+3.0
    Mark Jeffreson Labor 30,80530.5-3.0

    Booth breakdown

    Booths have been divided into four parts:

    • East – Cootamundra, Cowra, Gundagai, Harden, Weddin and Young council areas
    • North – Forbes and Parkes council areas
    • South – Lockhart and Wagga Wagga council areas
    • West – Bland, Coolamon, Junee and Temora council areas

    The Nationals won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 65.1% in the south to 76.9% in the west.

    Riverina was the best seat in Australia for the United Australia Party, with a vote ranging from 9.3% in the west to 13.2% in the north.

    Voter groupUAP prim %NAT 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Other votes10.070.27,7677.7

    Election results in Riverina at the 2019 federal election
    Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for the Nationals, Labor and the United Australia Party.

    Become a Patron!


    1. Surely there is a Voices of Riverina/Independent candidate running here?

      It’s fairly homogeneous in demographics and peculiar in political geography an Independent candidate with the right messaging could give Michael McCormick a scare.

    2. I haven’t heard anything much about this area but I agree, CG.

      Wagga voted for Dr. Joe McGirr at the State Government level in 2018 following a by-election, and was re-elected in 2019.

      As such, given the similarities to Indi, I think it may be possible for an independent candidate to be elected here at Federal level too. It may be more likely next time around if the Coalition is not in power.

    3. Ben suggestion.where a big town exists in an electorate.. eg Wagga Wagga…. cab it’s vote be listed seperate


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here