Mount Druitt – NSW 2019

ALP 15.5%

Incumbent MP
Edmond Atalla, since 2015.

Mount Druitt covers western parts of the City of Blacktown, including the suburbs of Minchinbury, Rooty Hill, Mount Druitt, Marsden Park and Arndell Park.

The electoral district of Mount Druitt has existed continuously since 1991. It previously existed from 1971 to 1981. It has always been won by the ALP.

The seat was first won by Jim Southee in 1971. He had held the seat of Blacktown since 1962. He retired at the 1973 election.

Southee was succeeded in 1973 by Tony Johnson. He held the seat until its abolition in 1981, when he moved to the neighbouring seat of Riverstone. He retired in 1983.

The 1983 Riverstone-by-election was won by Richard Amery. He moved to Mount Druitt in 1991, and held it until his retirement in 2015. He served as a minister in the Labor government from 1995 to 2003.

Amery was succeeded in 2015 by Labor candidate Edmond Atalla.


  • Edmond Atalla (Labor)
  • Samraat Grewal (Christian Democrats)
  • Brent Robertson (Greens)

Mount Druitt is a safe Labor seat.

2015 result

Edmond Atalla Labor 25,46056.6+9.4
Olivia Lloyd Liberal 13,12829.2-6.8
Josh GreenChristian Democrats2,4505.5-2.9
Brent Robertson Greens 2,3005.1-2.8
Robyn HamiltonNo Land Tax1,6103.6+3.6

2015 two-party-preferred result

Edmond Atalla Labor 26,87765.4+9.5
Olivia Lloyd Liberal 14,19134.6-9.5

Booth breakdown

Booths in Mount Druitt have been split into three parts: north-east, north-west and south.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 62.2% in the south to 70.6% in the north-west.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes62.58,10018.0

Two-party-preferred votes in Mount Druitt at the 2015 NSW state election

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here