Coogee – NSW 2019

LIB 2.9%

Incumbent MP
Bruce Notley-Smith, since 2011.

Eastern suburbs of Sydney. Coogee includes parts of Waverley and Randwick local government areas, including the suburbs of Randwick, Coogee, Clovelly, Bronte, Waverley, Tamarama and Bondi Junction.

The electoral district of Coogee was first created in 1927, following the abolition of proportional representation in New South Wales. Back in 1927, there were a much larger number of districts covering the eastern suburbs of Sydney, Coogee sitting alongside Botany, Randwick, Waverley, Bondi, Vaucluse and Woollahra.

As the number of seats has declined and Coogee has expanded in size, the seat has become stronger for the ALP and less so for the Liberal Party, and the ALP held Coogee continuously from 1974 to 2011.

The first member for Coogee, Hyman Goldstein, was a Nationalist MP who had previously served as a member for the proportionally-elected Eastern Suburbs district from 1922 to 1925. He was found dead in 1928 at the bottom of the Coogee cliffs in mysterious circumstances. It has been rumoured that his death was caused by the federal Member for Barton, Thomas Ley, who was suspected in the murder of his Labor opponent in the 1925 election, and was later convicted of murder after moving to London.

The Nationalists and the United Australia Party held Coogee until the 1941 election, when they lost to the ALP’s Lou Cunningham. He had previously served as the federal Member for Gwydir from 1919 to 1925 and again from 1929 to 1931. He held Coogee until his death in 1948.

The Liberal Party’s Kevin Ellis defeated Cunningham’s widow at the 1948 by-election. Ellis lost to the ALP’s Lou Walsh in 1953, and the two engaged in numerous election battle over the next decade. Walsh lost to Ellis in 1956, winning the seat back in 1962 for one final term. Ellis held the seat from 1965 until his retirement in 1973.

At the 1973 election, the Liberal Party’s Ross Freeman won by only eight votes. The Court of Disputed Returns overturned the result in 1974, and the by-election was won by former rugby player Michael Cleary of the ALP by 54 votes.

Cleary served as a minister in the Labor state government from 1981 to 1988, and retired at the 1991 election.

Coogee was won in 1991 by the ALP’s Ernie Page, who had been Member for Waverley since 1991, and moved to Coogee after Waverley was abolished. Page served as Minister for Local Government for the first term of the Carr Labor government from 1995 to 1999, and retired at the 2003 election.

Page was succeeded in 2003 by the ALP’s Paul Pearce, Mayor of Waverley. He was re-elected in 2007.

In 2011, Pearce lost Coogee to Liberal candidate Bruce Notley-Smith with a 15.5% swing. Notley-Smith was re-elected in 2015.


  • Marjorie O’Neill (Labor)
  • Lindsay Shurey (Greens)

Coogee is a very marginal seat, and could well be in play in 2019.

2015 result

Bruce Notley-Smith Liberal 21,56446.6-1.1
Paul Pearce Labor 15,07332.5+6.8
Lindsay Shurey Greens 8,60918.6-2.8
Victoria Gervay-RubenNo Land Tax6121.3+1.3
Linda DinkhaChristian Democrats4641.0-0.4

2015 two-party-preferred result

Bruce Notley-Smith Liberal 22,51752.9-5.4
Paul Pearce Labor 20,03147.1+5.4

Booth breakdown

Booths in Coogee have been split into three parts based on key suburbs: Clovelly-Coogee, Randwick and Waverley.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 50.6% in the south-west to 54.6% in the north.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 17.6% in the south-west to 20.8% in the north.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes19.956.010,94423.6

Election results in Coogee at the 2015 NSW state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here