Ocean Reef – WA 2013

LIB 2.7%

Incumbent MP
Albert Jacob, since 2008.


Map of Ocean Reef’s 2008 and 2013 boundaries. 2008 boundaries appear as red line, 2013 boundaries appear as white area. Local government areas are marked as green lines. Click to enlarge.

Northern Perth. The seat covers the suburbs of Ocean Reef, Mullaloo, Burns Beach, Kinross, Mindarie and parts of Currambine. The seat is a thin, coastal strip that takes in parts of Joondalup and Wanneroo council areas.

Ocean Reef previously only covered parts of Joondalup council, but in the redistribution the seat crossed the council boundary to take in Mindarie (previously in the seat of Mindarie, which was renamed Butler). The seat lost parts of Currambine to Joondalup and Kallaroo to Hillarys. The margin was cut from 4.4% to 2.7%.

Ocean Reef was created for the 2008 election – one of a number of new seats created in Perth due to one vote one value legislation.

The seat was created with a notional Labor majority, but thanks to a 6% swing it was won by Liberal candidate Albert Jacob.

Sitting Liberal MP Albert Jacob is running for re-election. The ALP is running Philippa Taylor. The Greens are running Mary O’Byrne.

Ocean Reef is a very marginal seat.

2008 result

Albert JacobLIB9,16347.7+5.8
Louise DurackALP7,05636.7-7.9
Justin WoodGRN2,00110.4+3.7
Frederick HayFF5432.8-0.6
Kevin MullenCDP4382.3+0.2

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Albert JacobLIB10,44554.4+6.0
Louise DurackALP8,74745.6-6.0


Polling booths in Ocean Reef at the 2008 WA state election. North in orange, Central in green, South in blue.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into three areas:

  • North – Kinross, Mindarie
  • Central – Currambine, Burns Beach
  • South – Ocean Reef, Mullaloo, Beaumaris

The Liberal Party topped the poll in all three areas. The ALP’s vote was highest in the area where the Liberal vote was lowest, coming within 0.21% in the north. The Liberal vote peaked at 48.6% in the south.

Voter groupLIB %ALP %GRN %Total votes% of ordinary votes
Other votes47.1936.3011.103,766

Liberal primary votes in Ocean Reef at the 2008 WA state election.

Labor primary votes in Ocean Reef at the 2008 WA state election.

Greens primary votes in Ocean Reef at the 2008 WA state election.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.