Springwood – QLD 2017

ALP 1.4%

Incumbent MP
Mick de Brenni, since 2015.

South-Eastern Queensland. Springwood covers northern parts of the City of Logan and western parts of the City of Redland, on the southern fringe of Brisbane. Springwood covers the suburbs of Rochedale South, Springwood, Daisy Hill, Shailer Park, Logandale and Mount Cotton.

Springwood expanded to the east, gaining sparsely populated areas previously contained in Redlands and Mansfield. These changes cut the Labor margin from 1.7% to 1.4%.

Springwood repeatedly changed hands throughout the 1980s and 1990s, but has remained in Labor hands for the last decade.

The seat was first won in 1986 by the National Party’s Huan Fraser. He briefly served as a minister in 1989 before losing his seat at the 1989 election.

Molly Robson won the seat for the ALP in 1989, and held it for two seats before losing to the Liberal Party’s Luke Woolmer in 1995. The ALP was hit in Springwood in 1995 due to a controversial tollway planned to be built through a local koala sanctuary. The Democrats polled over 18% and the Liberals won in a huge swing with preferences from other candidates.

Grant Musgrove won the seat back for the ALP in 1998. He resigned from the ALP in 2000 after being embroiled in a scandal involving fraudulent electoral enrolments, and he was replaced at the 2001 election by Labor candidate Barbara Stone.

Barbara Stone held Springwood for four terms, from 2001 to 2012. In 2012, Stone lost to LNP candidate John Grant with a 19.5% swing.

Grant lost his seat to Labor’s Mick de Brenni in 2015.


Springwood is a very marginal Labor seat and is likely to be fiercely contested at the election.

2015 election result

John Grant Liberal National 12,54742.1-13.642.2
Mick De Brenni Labor 12,26041.1+13.140.5
Janina Leo Greens 2,5958.7+2.08.5
Peter ChamberlainPalmer United Party1,5045.0+5.05.1
Chris LawrieFamily First9083.0+0.13.0

2015 two-party-preferred result

Mick De Brenni Labor 14,66151.7+17.151.4
John Grant Liberal National 13,67848.3-17.148.6

Booth breakdown

Booths in Springwood have been divided into three areas: central, east and north.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 50.2% in the east to 55% in the north.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes8.549.29,72131.9

Two-party-preferred in Springwood at the 2015 QLD state election

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.