Fowler – Australia 2019

ALP 17.5%

Incumbent MP
Chris Hayes, since 2010. Previously Member for Werriwa 2005-2010.

South-western Sydney, in particular parts of Liverpool and Fairfield council areas. Fowler covers the Liverpool CBD and the suburbs of Cabramatta, Canley Vale, Lansvale, Bonnyrigg, Chipping Norton, Warwick Farm and Bossley Park.

Fowler was first created for the 1984 election as part of the expansion of the size of the House of Representatives. It is a very safe Labor seat and has always been Labor-held.

The seat was first won in 1984 by the ALP’s Ted Grace. Grace held the seat for fourteen years, retiring in 1998. He was succeeded by Julia Irwin, also from the ALP. Irwin held the seat until 2010.

In 2010, Irwin retired and he was replaced as Labor candidate by Chris Hayes. Hayes had held the neighbouring seat of Werriwa for five years, but had been forced to change seats to make room for Laurie Ferguson, whose seat had effectively been abolished. Hayes has been re-elected in Fowler twice, in 2013 and 2016.


  • Francesca Mocanu (Christian Democratic Party)
  • Chris Hayes (Labor)
  • Joshua Jabbour (United Australia)
  • Seamus Lee (Greens)
  • Wayne Blewitt (Liberal)
  • Assessment
    Fowler is a very safe Labor seat.

    2016 result

    Chris Hayes Labor 51,55960.8+3.8
    Adam Farhan Liberal 21,81225.7-5.8
    Bill Cashman Greens 5,2646.2+2.9
    Craig HallChristian Democratic Party4,7925.7+1.9
    Joaquim De LimaSmokers Rights1,3431.6+1.6

    2016 two-party-preferred result

    Chris Hayes Labor 57,20967.5+4.6
    Adam Farhan Liberal 27,56132.5-4.6

    Booth breakdown

    Booths have been divided into three parts: central, south and west. The “south” area covers all those booths in the Liverpool council area, while those in Fairfield council area have been split into “central” and “west”.

    The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 57.4% in the west to 75% in the centre.

    Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Other votes62.09,20810.9

    Two-party-preferred votes in Fowler at the 2016 federal election

    Become a Patron!


    1. Congrats to Mr Chris Hayes on the win with the elections u are the man for this position and I have the upmost respect for you in the political area for us so pleased on the results and honored that you represent all of us continued best wishes to you your family and colleagues
      Sharon Dawson

    2. What makes Chris Hayes so special i dont think he has done anything for age care or anything in fact it is a dissappointing about this our area is liberal and now we have labor leader who doesnt do anything.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here