Mirrabooka – WA 2021

ALP 23.5%

Incumbent MP
Janine Freeman, since 2013. Previously Member for Nollamara 2008-2013.

Mirrabooka covers parts of the north-eastern suburbs of Perth, including Alexander Heights, Koondoola, Mirrabooka, Balga and Westminster. The seat covers parts of the Stirling, Swan and Wanneroo council areas.

Mirrabooka shifted to the north-west, taking in Girrawheen and Marangaroo from the seat of Girrawheen, losing Alexander Heights to Landsdale, losing the remainder of Ballajura to West Swan, and losing Westminster to Balcatta. These changes increased the Labor margin from 19.2% to 23.5%.

The seat of Mirrabooka has existed in its current form since 2013. Seats which previously covered the same area have traditionally been held by Labor MPs.

The area now covered by Mirrabooka was covered by the seat of Nollamara from the early 1980s. The seat was first won in 1983 by Labor’s Keith Wilson, who had represented Dianella since 1977. He held Mirrabooka until 1989, when the seat of Dianella was restored and Wilson moved back to his original seat.

Wilson was succeeded in Nollamara in 1989 by Labor’s John Kobelke. Kobelke held Nollamara for the next sixteen years. He served as a frontbencher from 1993, becoming a minister in 2001.

Nollamara was split up in 2005, with part of the seat forming the new seat of Balcatta. Kobelke shifted to Balcatta, holding it until his retirement in 2013.

Nollamara was restored in 2008, and was won by Janine Freeman. Freeman was re-elected in 2013, when Nollamara was renamed Mirrabooka.

Sitting Labor MP Janine Freeman is not running for re-election.

  • Michael Mabood (One Nation)
  • Peter Dunne (Independent)
  • Kim Mubarak (Independent)
  • Mark Cooper (Greens)
  • Meredith Hammat (Labor)
  • Dwight Randall (Australian Christians)
  • Aaron Sawmadal (Liberal)
  • Devinder Chhina (Waxit)
  • Jessica Ayre (No Mandatory Vaccination)

Mirrabooka is a safe Labor seat.

2017 result

Janine Freeman Labor 12,69859.0+11.362.9
Lily Chen Liberal 5,33624.8-14.121.0
Rafeif Ismail Greens 1,5757.3-1.46.5
Chukwudumebi IgbokweAustralian Christians6713.1-1.63.4
Kim MubarakIndependent5462.5+2.51.4
Sareeta DoobreeMicro Business3861.8+1.81.4
Matueny LukeIndependent3091.4+1.40.8
Informal 2,0098.5

2017 two-party-preferred result

Janine Freeman Labor 14,87969.2+14.673.5
Lily Chen Liberal 6,62930.8-14.626.5

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into four parts: central, north, south-east and south-west.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 67.2% in the south-east to 80.2% in the centre.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes73.24,40919.6

Two-party-preferred votes in Mirrabooka at the 2017 WA state election


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here