Mandurah – WA 2021

ALP 18.1%

Incumbent MP
David Templeman, since 2001.

Southern coastal fringe of Perth. The seat of Mandurah covers northern parts of the Mandurah council area, including the suburbs of Mandurah, Meadow Springs, Lakelands, Parklands, Greenfields, Silver Sands, San Remo, Madora Bay and Barragup.

Mandurah contracted, losing Furnissdale to Murray-Wellington and gaining a small area from Dawesville. This change slightly increased the Labor margin from 18% to 18.1%.

The seat of Mandurah has existed since 1983. The seat has swung back and forth between the parties, with a Liberal period from 1989 to 2001 dividing two periods of Labor holding the seat.

Mandurah was first won in 1983 by Labor candidate John Read. Read was re-elected in 1986.

Liberal candidate Roger Nicholls defeated Read in 1989. Nicholls joined the Liberal frontbench in 1990 and after winning a second term in 1993 he became a minister in the new government. He stepped down from the ministry in 1997.

Labor’s David Templeman defeated Nicholls in 2001. Templeman has been re-elected four times.


  • Ian Blevin (Shooters, Fishers and Farmers)
  • Cons Ortheil (Nationals)
  • Xanthe Turner (Greens)
  • Ryan Burns (Liberal)
  • Haydn Regterschot (One Nation)
  • David Templeman (Labor)
  • Marius Timis (Waxit)
  • Samy Spinola (No Mandatory Vaccination)
  • Katherine Summers (Sustainable Australia)
  • Gavin Farbey (Independent)
  • Rodney Beaton (Independent)

Mandurah is a safe Labor seat.

2017 result

David Templeman Labor 13,27357.0+4.556.8
Lynne Rowlands Liberal 5,01521.5-16.121.6
Doug ShawOne Nation3,00812.9+12.912.8
Jodie Moffat Greens 1,0724.6+1.04.7
Jason Turner Nationals 4872.1+0.32.0
Seb Carrie-WilsonFlux2851.2+1.21.2
Paul BatsioudisMicro Business1550.7+0.70.7
Informal 1,2625.1

2017 two-party-preferred result

David Templeman Labor 15,83668.0+10.368.1
Lynne Rowlands Liberal 7,45132.0-10.331.9

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three parts: north, south-east and south-west.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 66.8% in the north to 71.6% in the south-east.

One Nation came third, with a primary vote ranging from 10.2% in the south-west to 13.1% in the south-east.

Voter groupON prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes14.965.13,42815.1

Election results in Mandurah at the 2017 WA state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and One Nation primary votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here