Wanneroo – WA 2013

LIB 1.0%

Incumbent MP
Paul Miles, since 2008.

Outer north of Perth. Wanneroo covers southern parts of Wanneroo council area, including the suburbs of Carramar, Tapping, Ashby, Sinagra, Wanneroo, Hocking, Pearsall and Gnangara.

Map of Wanneroo’s 2008 and 2013 boundaries. 2008 boundaries appear as red line, 2013 boundaries appear as white area. Local government areas are marked as green lines. Click to enlarge.

Wanneroo lost territory at both its northern and southern ends. Banksia Grove was transferred to Butler (to the north) and the suburbs of Darch and Madeley were transferred to Girrawheen (to the south). The Liberal Party’s margin was increased from 0.7% to 1.0%

Wanneroo was first created in 1989, and has gone to the party of government at every election since 1993.

In 1989, the seat of Joondalup was abolished and replaced by Wanneroo. Sitting Joondalup Labor MP Jackie Watkins moved to Wanneroo.

Liberal candidate Wayde Smith defeated Watkins in 1993. In 1996 he was denied preselection in 1996 and succeeded by fellow Liberal Iain MacLean.

MacLean lost the seat in 2001 to the ALP’s Dianne Guise.

Guise became the first Wanneroo MP to win a second term in 2005, before losing in 2008 to Liberal candidate Paul Miles.

Sitting Liberal MP Paul Miles is running for re-election. The ALP is running Wanneroo councillor Brett Treby. The Greens are running Rob Phillips.

  • Rob Phillips (Greens)
  • Brett Treby (Labor)
  • Paul Miles (Liberal)
  • Meg Birch (Australian Christians)
  • Moyna Rapp (Family First)

Wanneroo is the Liberal Party’s most marginal seat in the state. If there is a trend towards the government, the Liberal Party should be able to strengthen their position in the seat.

2008 result

Paul MilesLIB9,84943.7+7.7
Dianne GuiseALP8,99039.9-9.7
Heather AquilinaGRN1,9748.8+4.1
Rod GrassoFF6402.8-1.2
Mary BirchCDP5992.7+0.4
Russell SewellIND4962.2+2.2

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Paul MilesLIB11,42950.7+6.9
Dianne GuiseALP11,10749.3-6.9
Polling booths in Wanneroo at the 2008 WA state election. South in blue, Central in orange, North in green.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into three areas. The two booths around Tapping and Caramar have been grouped as North. The three booths near the Wanneroo centre have been grouped as Central. The two booths around Hocking and Pearsall have been grouped as South.

The Liberal Party’s vote is highest in the south, with 45.7%, and the lowest with 41.8% in the centre. The ALP’s vote is highest in the centre and lowest in the south.

Voter groupLIB %ALP %GRN %Total votes% of ordinary votes
Other votes44.7338.608.355,039
Liberal primary votes in Wanneroo at the 2008 WA state election.
Labor primary votes in Wanneroo at the 2008 WA state election.


Comments are closed.