Wakehurst – NSW 2019

LIB 25.2%

Incumbent MP
Brad Hazzard, since 1991.

Northern beaches of Sydney. Wakehurst covers parts of Warringah local government area, including the suburbs of Collaroy, Cromer, Dee Why, Beacon Hill, Frenchs Forest, Allambie Heights, Killarney Heights and Forestville.

Wakehurst has existed since 1962. It has been won by the Liberal Party at all but two elections over the last half-century.

The seat was first won in 1962 by Dick Healey of the Liberal Party. He moved to the new seat of Davidson in 1971. He served as a minister in the Coalition state government from 1973 to 1976, and retired in 1981.

Wakehurst was won in 1971 by Allan Viney. He held the seat until his defeat in 1978 by the ALP’s Tom Webster. The 1978 election was a landslide for the ALP under Neville Wran, and Wakehurst was one of a number of traditional Liberal seats to fall to Labor.

Webster was re-elected at the 1981 election but was defeated in 1984 by Liberal candidate John Booth. Booth held the seat until 1991, when he lost preselection to Brad Hazzard.

Hazzard has held Wakehurst since 1991. He joined the Coalition frontbench after the 1995 election, and served in a variety of portfolios while the Coalition was in opposition, and has been a minister since the Coalition won in 2011.


  • Brad Hazzard (Liberal)
  • Greg Mawson (Sustainable Australia)
  • Katika Schultz (Keep Sydney Open)
  • Lilith Zaharias (Greens)
  • Susan Sorensen (Animal Justice)
  • Darren Hough (Independent)
  • Chris Sharpe (Labor)
  • Assessment
    Wakehurst is a very safe Liberal seat.

    2015 result

    Brad Hazzard Liberal 30,61163.9-5.5
    Ned Barsi Labor 7,38715.4+2.4
    Jonathan King Greens 5,72712.0-2.8
    Conny HarrisIndependent2,0574.3+4.3
    Silvana NeroChristian Democrats1,2592.6-0.2
    Robert Di CosmoNo Land Tax8531.8+1.8

    2015 two-party-preferred result

    Brad Hazzard Liberal 32,10575.2-5.3
    Ned Barsi Labor 10,56524.8+5.3

    Booth breakdown

    Booths in Wakehurst have been split into three parts based around key suburbs: Collaroy in the north-east, Dee Why in the east and Frenchs Forest in the west.

    The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 73% in Dee Why to 78.7% in Frenchs Forest.

    The Greens came third, with a primary vote ranging from 11% in Collaroy to 12.2% in Dee Why.

    Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Dee Why12.273.016,98835.5
    Frenchs Forest11.478.78,11516.9
    Other votes13.475.110,13021.2

    Election results in Wakehurst at the 2015 NSW state election
    Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

    Become a Patron!


    1. Brad Hazzard will likely retire (wouldn’t be surprised since hes served for so long now), Liberal hold regardless, However if he retires Brownlyn Bishop could run

    2. My home State Seat. Hazzard was endorsed unopposed and with unanimous support. What will be interesting is who comes 2nd between Labor and the Greens.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here