Whitlam – Australia 2022

ALP 10.9%

Incumbent MP
Stephen Jones, since 2016. Previously member for Throsby 2010-2016.

Southern Illawarra and Southern Highlands of NSW. Whitlam covers the entirety of the Shellharbour council area along with southern parts of the City of Wollongong. These suburbs mostly surround Lake Illawarra, including Shellharbour, Dapto and Albion Park. It also includes distinct areas in the Southern Highlands, covering the most populated parts of Wingecarribee Shire, stretching as far west as the Hume Highway and covering Bowral, Mittagong and Moss Vale.


The seat of Whitlam was known as Throsby until 2016. Throsby was first created for the 1984 election, and has always been held by the ALP. It has always been won by the ALP by a large margin, with well over 60% at every election since 1993.

The seat was first won in 1984 by Colin Hollis. Hollis had previously been elected in Macarthur for one term in 1983. Hollis retired in 2001, and was succeeded by former ACTU President Jennie George. George held the seat from 2001 to 2010.

In 2010, Stephen Jones won the seat for the ALP upon Jennie George’s retirement. Jones has been re-elected three times.


  • Stephen Jones (Labor)
  • Michael Wheeler (Liberal Democrats)
  • Colin Hughes (One Nation)
  • Mike Cains (Liberal)
  • Allan Wode (United Australia)
  • Jamie Dixon (Greens)
  • Assessment
    Whitlam is a safe Labor seat.

    2019 result

    Stephen Jones Labor 50,10248.8-4.0
    Stephen Wentworth Nationals 26,14525.5+19.0
    Jamie Dixon Greens 9,4619.2+0.9
    Angelo CudaUnited Australia Party9,0718.8+8.8
    Frank NeroChristian Democratic Party4,2144.10.0
    Ken DavisSustainable Australia3,6783.6+3.6

    2019 two-party-preferred result

    Stephen Jones Labor 62,54160.9+60.9
    Stephen Wentworth Nationals 40,13039.1+39.1

    Booth breakdown

    Booths have been divided into three areas, along local government boundaries.

    Labor won a large majority in two out of three areas, polling 66% in Shellharbour and 70.6% in Wollongong. The Liberal Party polled 54.4% in Wingecarribee, the least populous part of the electorate.

    Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Other votes11.059.68,3088.1

    Election results in Whitlam at the 2019 federal election
    Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for Labor, the Nationals and the Greens.

    Become a Patron!


    1. Why have the Liberals decided to take this seat on instead of the National? An attempt to steal some suburban votes around South Wollongong and Shellharbour?

    2. Being an urban and Southern Highlands seat it is likely that there is zero National infrastructure to enable a run. Katrina Hodgkinson running in Gilmore last time was probably a surprise to most.

    3. Agree with Redistributed, all state seats covered by Whitlam were are all Labor v Liberal contests at the last state election, so it wouldn’t make much sense for the Nationals to contest.

    4. Sounds like hitting up in this seat with one UAP volunteer charged and bailed for inappropriate behaviour at Dapto.
      From ABC News No link available “United Australia Party volunteer ‘banned from polling booth’ aft…
      A United Australia Party (UAP) volunteer says she has been banned from polling booths across the Illawarra region in New South Wales after police received reports she made violent threats over campaign advertising. Key points: Police were called to a Dapto polling booth after receiving reports of a volunteer threatening violence against others”


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here