Chifley – Australia 2022

ALP 12.4%

Incumbent MP
Ed Husic, since 2010.

Western Sydney. Chifley covers western parts of the City of Blacktown. Chifley covers parts of the suburb of Blacktown and the neighbouring suburbs of Doonside, Mount Druitt, Rooty Hill, Marayong, Quakers Hill and a number of other suburbs in the northwestern parts of Blacktown council area.


Chifley was created for the 1969 election, and has always been a safe seat for the ALP. The seat was first won in 1969 by the ALP’s John Armitage, who had previously held the neighbouring seat of Mitchell for one term from 1961 to 1963.

Armitage held the seat until his retirement at the 1983 election, when he was succeeded by Russell Gorman. Gorman transferred to the new seat of Greenway at the 1984 election, and Chifley was won by Deputy Mayor of Blacktown Roger Price. Gorman held Greenway until his retirement in 1996, while Price has been re-elected in Chifley at every election from 1984 until 2007, and retired in 2010.

Ed Husic was elected in Chifley in 2010. Husic had previously ran for Greenway unsuccessfully in 2004. Husic has been re-elected three times.


Chifley is a safe Labor seat.

2019 result

Ed Husic Labor 49,41854.3-6.8
Livingston Chettipally Liberal 25,41127.9+5.3
Josh GreenChristian Democratic Party5,8596.4-2.7
Brent Robertson Greens 4,6045.1+0.5
Joseph O’ConnorUnited Australia Party4,1334.5+4.5
Ammar KhanIndependent1,5811.7-0.8

2019 two-party-preferred result

Ed Husic Labor 56,76162.4-6.8
Livingston Chettipally Liberal 34,24537.6+6.8

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three areas. Polling places have been split between those near Mount Druitt (south-west), near Blacktown (east), and those in the north-western part of the seat.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 61% in the east to 67.9% in the south-west.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes55.89,5509.4

Election results in Oxley at the 2019 federal election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for Labor and the Liberal Party.

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here