Berowra – Australia 2022

LIB 15.7%

Incumbent MP
Julian Leeser, since 2016.

Northern Sydney. Berowra covers most of Hornsby Shire and northern parts of the Hills. Major suburbs include Berowra, Hornsby, Cherrybrook, Pennant Hills, and Dural. It also stretches as far north as Dangar Island and Wisemans Ferry.


Berowra was created at the 1969 election, and has always been safely retained by the Liberal Party.

The seat was first won in 1969 by Tom Hughes. Hughes had previously held the seat of Parkes since 1963, but its abolition in 1969 saw him move to Berowra. He was Attorney-General in John Gorton’s government, but was dropped from the cabinet when William McMahon became Prime Minister, and he retired at the 1972 election.

In 1972, the seat was won by Harry Edwards, a professor of economics at Macquarie University. Edwards held the seat for the next 21 years, retiring in 1993. He was replaced by Philip Ruddock, who had held other seats since 1973. Ruddock held the seat from 1993 until 2016, serving as a senior minister for the entirety of the Howard government. Ruddock has since gone on to be elected as Mayor of Hornsby.

Berowra was won in 2016 by Liberal candidate Julian Leeser. Leeser was re-elected in 2019.


Berowra is a safe Liberal seat.

2019 result

Julian Leeser Liberal 53,74157.2+0.1
Katie Gompertz Labor 19,82121.1+1.2
Monica Tan Greens 11,15711.9+0.4
Simon TaylorChristian Democratic Party2,1632.3-3.2
Mick GallagherIndependent2,1042.2-0.8
Craig McLachlanUnited Australia Party1,5761.7+1.7
Brendan ClarkeScience Party1,4651.6-0.5
Justin ThomasSustainable Australia1,4251.5+1.5
Roger WoodwardIndependent4950.5-0.4

2019 two-party-preferred result

Julian Leeser Liberal 61,67565.6-0.8
Katie Gompertz Labor 32,27234.4+0.8

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into four areas. Booths in the sparsely-populated north and west of the seat have been grouped as “north-west”. Booths at the southern end of the seat have been grouped as “south”. Those booths in the east of the seat have been split into “north-east” and “east”.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 54.3% in the north-east to 78.8% in the north-west.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 7.9% in the north-west to 16.0% in the east.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes11.368.412,58813.4

Election results in Berowra at the 2019 federal election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for the Liberal Party, Labor and Greens.

Become a Patron!


  1. Missed opportunity for a teal. Julian Leeser needs to become leader or a very prominent front bencher if the Liberals want their path back to government to include the teal seats.

    Greens also seem to have underperformed considering their strength on Hornsby council. I was half expecting a Liberal vs Green 2PP

  2. I am not sure if this is teal territory much of this is electorate is more like Menzies especially the Southern and Western end and more nouveau riche than old money like Ku-ring-gai. The Pacific highway corridor from Hornsby to the Hawkesbury River such as Cowan, Asquith etc is not like Manningham.

  3. This is both geographically and politically what you could call the borderlands of “Teal territory”. As I pointed out in my previous comment, the Liberal vote has become very soft in both the “nouveaux riches” areas and the Pacific Highway corridor. It’s only the five-acre block district that has this look like it’s still a very safe Liberal seat. The result in Bradfield was unexpectedly close and could be repeated here. I’d love to see a Teal independent run here in the future.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here