2019 Australian Federal Election

Welcome to the Tally Room’s complete guide to the next Australian federal election. This guide includes comprehensive coverage of each seat’s history, geography, political situation and results of the 2016 election, as well as maps and tables showing those results.

On this page you can find links to each individual profile for each House of Representatives electorate and the Senate race in the six states and the two territories, as well as information about the redistribution and frequently asked questions.

This election guide has been a big project over many months. If you appreciate this work please consider signing up as a patron of this website via Patreon to help me take time off to write these guides and the rest of this website.

Become a Patron!

Table of contents:

  1. Local electorate profiles
  2. Senate profiles
  3. Redistribution
  4. Frequently asked questions
  5. Contact us

Local electorate profiles

Profiles have been produced for all 151 House of Representatives electorates. You can use the following navigation to click through to each seat’s profile.

You can use the following navigation to click through to each seat’s profile, or look at the box on the right-hand side panel to see the ten most recent profiles posted.

You can use the following map to click on any lower house seat, and then click through to the relevant guide.

Senate profiles

Profiles have been written for the Senate races in all six states and both territories.


Electoral boundaries have been redrawn in six jurisdictions since the last election.

Minor changes were made in Queensland, Tasmania and the Northern Territory, while more significant changes were made in Victoria, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory.

Victoria gained a thirty-eighth seat, the ACT gained a third seat, and South Australia lost its eleventh seat.

Two new seats were drawn as notional Labor seats: the seat of Fraser was created in western Melbourne, while a new inner-city seat named Canberra was created in the ACT. A Labor seat was abolished in South Australia, with the seats of Port Adelaide and Hindmarsh merged into a new seat of Hindmarsh. The seat of Dunkley in south-eastern Melbourne was redrawn as a notional Labor seat. This produced a change in the total number of seats per party:

  • Coalition – 75 (-1)
  • Labor – 71 (+2)
  • Others – 5 (-)

Seven other seats were given new names.

Old name New name
Canberra Bean
Denison Clark
Batman Cooper
Melbourne Ports Macnamara
McMillan Monash
Murray Nicholls
Wakefield Spence

Frequently asked questions

This guide includes a lot of content and I regularly get asked questions about how it is structured and why I make decisions about what information is included.

Please also post here any questions about the structure of the guide or suggestions about improvements.

Read more

Contact us

If you have a correction or an update for a single electorate page, feel free to post a comment. You can also send us an email by using this form.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Subject (required)

    Your Message (required)