Moreton – Australia 2019

ALP 4.0%

Incumbent MP
Graham Perrett, since 2007.

Southern Brisbane. Moreton covers suburbs on the southern side of the Brisbane River to the south of the centre of Brisbane, including Sunnybank, Runcorn, Eight Mile Plains, Acacia Ridge, Coopers Plains, Rocklea, Salisbury, Moorooka, Oxley, Corinda, Graceville and Fairfield.

Moreton gained parts of Annerley and Wellers Hill from Griffith and lost a small area to Oxley.

Moreton is an original federation electorate. For most of its history it has been held by the Liberal Party and its predecessors, who held the seat from 1906 until 1990, but the seat was a bellwether seat from 1990 until 2013, when Labor retained the seat despite losing government.

Moreton was won in 1901 by independent labour candidate James Wilkinson, a former member of the colonial Legislative Assembly. Wilkinson was re-elected as an independent in 1903, and rejoined the ALP in 1904.

Wilkinson lost Moreton in 1906 to Anti-Socialist candidate Hugh Sinclair. Sinclair held the seat for over a decade, representing the Commonwealth Liberal Party and the Nationalist Party until his retirement in 1919.

Sinclair was succeeded in Moreton by former state MP Arnold Wienholt, also a Nationalist. Wienholt only held the seat for one term, retiring in 1922.

The seat was won in 1922 by Nationalist candidate Joseph Francis. Francis held the seat for over three decades. He served as a minister in the first term of the Lyons government from 1932 to 1934, and again served as a minister from the election of the Menzies government in 1949 until his retirement in 1955.

Moreton was won in 1955 by Liberal candidate James Killen. Killen was on the right wing of the Liberal Party, and held the seat for the next 29 years. At the 1961 election the Menzies government barely held on, and Killen’s seat of Moreton was the closest result. Indeed, Killen only held on due to Communist Party preferences leaking away from the Labor candidate. Killen served as a minister in the Gorton government from 1969 until 1971 but was dropped by William McMahon when he became Prime Minister.

Killen served as Minister for Defence in the Fraser government from 1975 until 1982, when a reshuffle saw him moved into a more junior role for the final year of the Fraser government. He retired in 1983 after the defeat of the Fraser government, triggering a by-election.

The ensuing by-election was won by Liberal candidate Donald Cameron. Cameron had previously held the seat of Griffith from 1966 to 1977, and then the seat of Fadden until the 1983 election, when he was defeated. He returned to Parliament as Member for Moreton and held it until the 1990 election, when he was defeated by Labor candidate Garrie Gibson, ending 84 years of Moreton being held by conservative parties.

Gibson held the seat until the 1996 election, when he lost to Liberal candidate Gary Hardgrave. Hardgrave served as a junior minister from 2001 until January 2007, when he was removed from the ministry in a reshuffle. Hardgrave lost the 2007 election to Labor candidate Graham Perrett.

Perrett was re-elected in 2010, 2013 and 2016.

No information.

Moreton is a marginal Labor seat.

2016 result

Nic Monsour Liberal National 32,10337.8-4.537.8
Graham Perrett Labor 31,34236.9-1.836.8
Kristen Lyons Greens 10,81212.7+2.713.0
Des SoaresNick Xenophon Team4,0724.8+4.84.5
Andrew CooperLiberal Democrats2,7833.3+3.33.2
Florian HeiseFamily First2,5073.0+1.42.9
Shan-Ju LinKatter’s Australian Party1,3291.6+0.31.5

2016 two-party-preferred result

Graham Perrett Labor 45,89254.0+2.554.0
Nic Monsour Liberal National 39,05646.0-2.546.0

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three areas: north-east, south and west.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in two areas: 56.8% in the south and 58.1% in the north-east. The LNP polled 52.6% in the west.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 8.7% in the south to 19.8% in the north-east.

Voter groupGRN %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes12.452.518,27820.9

Election results in Moreton at the 2016 federal election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.