Scarborough – WA 2013

LIB 5.1%

Incumbent MP
Liza Harvey, since 2008.


Northern Perth. Scarborough covers the suburbs of Scarborough, Doubleview, Innaloo, Trigg and parts of Gwelup and Karrinyup, near the coast in the inner north of Perth. The entire seat is contained in the City of Stirling.

Scarborough moved to the north, losing parts to Churchlands and gaining parts from Carine. This slightly changed the Liberal margin from 5.2% to 5.1%.

Scarborough was created in its current form at the 2008 election. A seat named Scarborough previously existed as a marginal seat from 1974 to 1996.

The previous seat was held by the Liberals from 1974 to 1983, then the ALP from 1983 to 1989, and again by the Liberal Party from 1989 to 1996.

The new seat was created with a notional Liberal margin of 2.6%. Liberal candidate Liza Harvey was elected with a 2.6% swing.


Scarborough is a marginal seat, but in the current environment Harvey is likely to increase her margin.

2008 result

Liza HarveyLIB8,37444.9+14.2
Scott BlackwellALP5,62230.1-2.3
Sonja Lundie-JenkinsGRN2,33812.5+1.9
Elizabeth ReIND1,7079.1+9.1
Jennifer WhatelyCDP4002.1-1.4
Jim McCourtFF2231.2+1.2

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Liza HarveyLIB10,29055.2+2.6
Scott BlackwellALP8,36044.8-2.6


Polling booths in Scarborough at the 2008 WA state election. North in blue, South in orange.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into two halves, north and south. The vote was similar in the two parts of the seat.

Voter groupLIB %ALP %GRN %Total votes% of ordinary votes
Other votes44.6630.8611.914,711

Liberal primary votes in Scarborough at the 2008 WA state election.

Labor primary votes in Scarborough at the 2008 WA state election.

Greens primary votes in Scarborough at the 2008 WA state election.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.