Kalamunda – WA 2013

LIB 6.3%

Incumbent MP
John Day, since 2008. Previously Member for Darling Range 1993-2008.

Eastern Perth. Kalamunda covers suburbs between the Helena River and the Canning River, including Kalamunda, Gooseberry Hill, Lesmurdie, Walliston, Carmel, Darlington and Maddington. Most of the seat is in Kalamunda local government area, on the Darling Range.

No changes.

Kalamunda was created as a new seat in 2008. A previous seat with the same name existed from 1974 to 1989. The seat and its neighbour, Darling Range, have occasionally replaced each other in redistributions and on a number of occasions have had members switch from one seat to the other. Both seats have been won at every election by the Liberal Party for over 50 years.

Ian Thompson moved to Kalamunda in 1974 after Darling Range was abolished. He had been elected to Darling Range in 1971. Darling Range was restored in 1977, but Thompson held Kalamunda until it was abolished in 1989. He then moved to Darling Range and held it for one term, although he finished his term as an independent after resigning from the Liberal Party in 1990.

In 1993, Thompson was succeeded as Member for Darling Range by John Day. Day held Darling Range for fifteen years, being re-elected in 1996, 2001 and 2005.

In 2008, Kalamunda was restored as a seat name, taking over a large part of the former seat of Darling Range. Day moved to Kalamunda and was re-elected. He has served as a minister in the Barnett government since 2008.


  • Greg Ross (Independent)
  • Geoff Stallard (Independent)
  • Toni Warden (Greens)
  • John Day (Liberal)
  • Hannah Williams (Australian Christians)
  • Mick Wainwright (Labor)

Kalamunda is not particularly safe, but with polls leaning towards the Liberal Party making gains, this seat should be safe in 2013.

2008 result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing
John Day LIB 9,257 47.6 +4.5
Juliana Plummer ALP 6,121 31.5 -8.3
Toni Warden GRN 2,871 14.8 +6.0
Rob Merrells CDP 806 4.1 +0.5
Ian Hopkinson FF 401 2.1 -0.3

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing
John Day LIB 10,939 56.3 +6.1
Juliana Plummer ALP 8,508 43.8 -6.1


Polling booths in Kalamunda at the 2008 WA state election. North in green, Central in blue, South in orange.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into three areas: north, central and south.

The Liberal Party polled a majority of primary votes in the north and south, compared to 27% for the ALP.

The ALP won in the southern part of the seat – 47.8% to 31.8%.

Voter group LIB % ALP % GRN % Total votes % of votes
North 50.32 27.76 16.93 7,248 37.25
Central 52.60 27.11 14.08 4,523 23.25
South 31.78 47.72 11.43 3,317 17.05
Other votes 49.84 29.76 14.38 4,368 22.45

Liberal primary votes in Kalamunda at the 2008 WA state election.

Labor primary votes in Kalamunda at the 2008 WA state election.

Greens primary votes in Kalamunda at the 2008 WA state election.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room. If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.