Bragg – SA 2018

LIB 16.6%

Incumbent MP
Vickie Chapman, since 2002.

Eastern Adelaide. Bragg covers suburbs of Adelaide, stretching from those immediately to the south-east of the Adelaide city centre, out to the foot of the Adelaide Hills. Most of the electorate’s population lies in the City of Burnside, with a minority in the Adelaide Hills and a small area in Mitcham council and Norwood Payneham and St Peters council.

Bragg shifted west, losing Summertown and Uraidla to Morialta, Piccadilly to Kavel, Crafers to Heysen and Dulwich to Dunstan. Bragg picked up Beulah Park and Kensington from Dunstan, and Auldana and Rosslyn Park from Hartley.


The electorate of Bragg has existed since 1970, and has always been held by the Liberal Party.

The seat was first won in 1970 by David Tonkin. He was elected Liberal leader in 1975, and after losing the 1977 election, he led the Liberal Party into government in 1979. He served as Premier for one term, losing in 1982. He resigned from Parliament in 1983.

Graham Ingerson was elected to Bragg at the 1983 Bragg by-election. He served in the ministry from 1993, and as Deputy Premier from 1996, until he resigned from both roles in 1998. Ingerson retired at the 2002 election.

Vickie Chapman was elected in Bragg at the 2002 election, and has been re-elected three times. She served as Liberal Party deputy leader from 2006 to 2009, and again since February 2013.


Bragg is a safe Liberal seat.

2014 election result

Vickie Chapman Liberal 15,03365.7+2.664.9
Ella Waters Labor 4,95821.7+0.123.1
Ami Harrison Greens 2,89112.6+0.411.6
Dignity for Disability0.2
Family First0.2

2014 two-party-preferred result

Vickie Chapman Liberal 15,71168.7-1.566.6
Ella Waters Labor 7,17131.3+1.533.4

Booth breakdown

Booths in Bragg have been divided into three areas: central, north and south.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 62.3% in the north to 72.3% in the centre.

The Greens vote ranged from 10.2% in the centre to 12.6% in the north.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes13.165.75,71529.8

Election results in Bragg at the 2014 SA state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.