Moggill – QLD 2017

LNP 8.1%

Incumbent MP
Christian Rowan, since 2015.

Western Brisbane. Moggill covers the suburbs of Kenmore, Chapel Hill, Brookfield, Pullenvale, Bellbowrie, Karana Downs and Mount Crosby.

Moggill expanded slightly on its eastern edge to take in a small area near Chapel Hill from Indooroopilly. The seat lost its westernmost areas to Lockyer, but these areas don’t contain a voting population.


The seat of Moggill has existed since 1986, and in that time the seat has always been held by the Liberal Party, and now the LNP.

The seat was first won in 1986 by Liberal MP Bill Lickiss. He had served as Member for Mount Coot-tha since 1963. He retired at the 1989 election.

David Watson won Moggill in 1989. Watson had held the federal seat of Forde for the Liberal Party from 1984 to 1987. He served as a minister in the coalition government from 1996 to 1998, and served as leader of the Liberal Party from 1998 to 2001.

Watson retired in 2004, and was succeeded by Bruce Flegg.

Flegg led the Liberal Party into the 2006 election, and served as Liberal leader until December 2007. He won re-election for the Liberal National Party in 2009, and again in 2012. Flegg served briefly as a minister from March until November 2012. He was denied preselection for Moggill in 2014, and did not run for re-electon.

Moggill was won in 2015 by LNP candidate Christian Rowan.


Moggill is a relatively safe LNP seat.

2015 election result

Christian Rowan Liberal National 15,10450.2-13.150.2
Louisa Pink Labor 7,60025.2+9.625.3
Charles Worringham Greens 4,75815.8+2.015.8
Barry SearleIndependent1,9596.5+6.56.5
Dion Van ZylPalmer United Party6922.3+2.32.3

2015 two-party-preferred result

Christian Rowan Liberal National 16,40358.2-15.758.1
Louisa Pink Labor 11,77841.8+15.741.9

Booth breakdown

Booths in Moggill have been divided into three areas: east, north-west and south.

The LNP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 55% in the south to 66.5% in the north-west.

The Greens came third, with a vote ranging from 14.3% in the south to 17.7% in the east.

Voter groupGRN prim %LNP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes15.059.69,13630.1

Election results in Moggill at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.