Keppel – QLD 2017

ALP 4.1%

Incumbent MP
Brittany Lauga, since 2015.

North Queensland. Keppel covers regional areas along the coast to the north of Rockhampton, including Yeppoon, northern suburbs of Rockhampton, and the Keppel islands.

Keppel lost the suburb of Koongal to Rockhampton, and lost a small area north of Rockhampton to Mirani.

Keppel was first contested at the 1992 election. A former seat with the same name had existed from 1912 to 1960. The current incarnation was held by the National Party until 2004 and then was held by Labor until 2012. The seat has alternated since then.

The seat was first won in 1992 by National Party MP Vince Lester. He had previously held the seats of Belyando and Peak Downs, having first been elected in 1974. Lester had served as a minister in the National Party government from 1983 until 1989.

Lester retired in 2004, and Keppel was won by ALP candidate Paul Hoolihan. Hoolihan won re-election in 2006 and 2009.

In 2012, Hoolihan was defeated by LNP candidate Bruce Young. Young held the seat for one term, and lost in 2015 to Labor’s Brittany Lauga.


Keppel is a marginal Labor seat, and could be in play at this election.

2015 election result

Brittany Lauga Labor 14,40344.4+11.043.6
Bruce Young Liberal National 12,69839.2-5.139.9
Warren PurnellPalmer United Party2,6798.3+8.38.5
Brandon Jones Greens 1,4974.6-1.84.7
Bruce DiamondIndependent1,1433.5+3.53.4

2015 two-party-preferred result

Brittany Lauga Labor 16,46554.8+11.254.1
Bruce Young Liberal National 13,58345.2-11.245.9

Booth breakdown

Booths in Keppel have been divided into three areas. Polling places in the Rockhampton urban area have been grouped together, with the remainder split into central and north.

The Labor two-party-preferred vote ranged from 51% in the north to 61% in Rockhampton.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes50.313,15343.5

Two-party-preferred in Keppel at the 2015 QLD state election

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.