Victoria Park – WA 2013

ALP 9.0%

Incumbent MP
Ben Wyatt, since 2006.

Inner-eastern Perth. Victoria Park covers the suburbs of Bentley, Burswood, Carlisle, East Victoria Park, Lathlain, St James, Victoria Park and parts of Kensington and Welshpool. Victoria Park is the northernmost district in the South Metropolitan Legislative Council region.

No change.

Victoria Park has existed since 1930. The seat was held by an independent for eight years from 1945, but apart from this period the seat has been held by the Labor Party.

Ron Davies won Victoria Park at the 1961 by-election. He served as a minister in the Tonkin government from 1971 to 1974.

In 1978, Davies became Leader of the Opposition, serving in the role until 1981, when he was succeeded by Brian Burke, who led the ALP back to power in 1983. Davies retired in 1986.

The 1986 by-election was won by Geoff Gallop. Gallop joined the Lawrence ministry in 1990, serving as a minister until the government’s defeat in 1993.

In 1996, Gallop became Leader of the Opposition. He led the ALP to victory in 2001, and then won a second term as Premier in 2005. He resigned in 2006.

The 2006 by-election was won by Ben Wyatt. Wyatt has served as Shadow Treasurer since the 2008 election.


Victoria Park is a safe Labor seat.

2008 result

Ben WyattALP9,13746.8-2.3
Ben TraviaLIB6,72334.4+4.6
Kim LissonGRN2,72613.9+4.6
Saskia MatthewsCDP4902.5-0.4
James OlsenFF4682.4+2.4

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Ben WyattALP11,52359.0-4.7
Ben TraviaLIB8,01241.0+4.7



Polling booths in Victoria Park at the 2008 WA state election. North in green, South in orange.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into two halves: North and South.

The ALP won in both areas, but won by a larger margin in the south.

Voter groupALP %LIB %GRN %Total votes% of votes
Other votes45.1735.4013.874,80224.57
Labor primary votes in Victoria Park at the 2008 WA state election.
Liberal primary votes in Victoria Park at the 2008 WA state election.
Greens primary votes in Victoria Park at the 2008 WA state election.


Comments are closed.