Cockburn – WA 2013

ALP 9.2%

Incumbent MP
Fran Logan, since 2001.


Map of Cockburn’s 2008 and 2013 boundaries. 2008 boundaries appear as red line, 2013 boundaries appear as white area. Click to enlarge.

Southern Perth. The district includes the suburbs of Cockburn Central, Yangebup, Munster, Beeliar, Success, Henderson, Wattleup, Hammond Park, and parts of Coogee, Spearwood, Bibra Lake and South Lake. The district covers southern parts of the City of Cockburn.

Cockburn lost part of Spearwood to Willagee. This cut the ALP’s margin from 9.6% to 9.2%.

Cockburn has existed continuously since 1962, and has always been held by Labor MPs.

Fran Logan won Cockburn in 2001. He served as a minister from 2005 until the ALP lost power in 2008.


Cockburn is a safe Labor seat.

2008 result

Fran LoganALP9,62048.70-4.1
Donald BarrettLIB6,18831.32+6.2
Andrew SullivanGRN2,53112.81+5.9
Mary JenkinsIND1,4167.17+7.2

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Fran LoganALP11,77359.60-5.2
Donald BarrettLIB7,98240.40+5.2



Polling booths in Cockburn at the 2008 WA state election. East in green, West in blue.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into two halves: East and West. There wasn’t a significant different in the vote for each party in these areas: Labor polling 47.4% and the Liberal Party polling between 33% and 34%.

Voter groupALP %LIB %GRN %Total votes% of ordinary votes
Other votes51.1627.2514.473,567
Labor primary votes in Cockburn at the 2008 WA state election.
Liberal primary votes in Cockburn at the 2008 WA state election.
Greens primary votes in Cockburn at the 2008 WA state election.