Montgomery – Tasmania LC 2013

Incumbent MLC
Sue Smith, since 1999. Previously Member for Leven 1997-1999.

North-western Tasmania. Montgomery covers most of Burnie and Central Coast council areas, running along the coast from Burnie to Ulverstone.

No change.

Montgomery was created in the 1999 redistribution. The seat was held by Sue Smith, who had previously held the seat of Leven since the 1997 by-election.

Smith was re-elected in Montgomery in 2002 with 51.7% of the vote in a four-candidate race. She was re-elected in 2007 unopposed.

Smith was elected President of the Legislative Council in 2008.

Sue Smith is not running for re-election.

  • Cheryl Fuller – Central Coast councillor since 2007.
  • Leonie Hiscutt (Liberal) – Farmer
  • Kevin Morgan – Former member of the ALP and advisor to Department of Premier and Cabinet.
  • Ed Vincent – CEO, Parklands.

Very difficult to predict a winner in an open race, in a seat that has always been won by an independent.

The Liberal candidate Hiscutt could benefit from anti-government sentiment and could win the seat, but any of the candidates could be a contender.

2007 result
Sue Smith was re-elected unopposed.


  1. I have no idea who will win this seat but on the basis I have made a prediction for the Penbroke and Nelson I will say Cheryl Fuller will win.

Comments are closed.