Brisbane City Council election, 2020

Welcome to the Tally Room’s guide to the 2020 Brisbane City Council election. This guide includes comprehensive coverage of each ward’s history, geography, political situation and results of the 2016 election, as well as maps and tables showing those results.

Table of contents:

  1. Lord mayoral profile
  2. Ward profiles
  3. Key wards
  4. Redistribution
  5. Contact

Lord mayoral profile

Click here to read the profile of the Lord Mayor race, including the history of the position, the 2016 results, the candidates and the 2016 results by new ward.

Ward profiles

Ward profiles have been produced for all 26 Brisbane City Council wards. You can use the following navigation to click through to each seat’s profile.

You can also use the following map to click on any ward, and then click through to the relevant guide.

Key wards

The Liberal National Party hold nineteen seats on Brisbane City Council, alongside five Labor councillors, one Green and one independent. One of these nineteen LNP wards has been redrawn as a very marginal Labor ward, reducing the LNP ward count to eighteen.

There are six marginal LNP wards in the city, and two particularly marginal Labor wards.

Read more


The City of Brisbane’s electoral boundaries were redrawn following the 2016 election. These changes were relatively mild since it had only been four years since the previous redistribution.

About 8% of the city’s population has been shifted to a different ward, and one ward has flipped from one party to another. The ward of Doboy has shifted from a 4.3% LNP margin to a 0.3% Labor margin.

Read more


If you have a correction or an update for a single ward page, feel free to post a comment. You can also send an email by using this form.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Subject (required)

    Your Message (required)

    Become a Patron!