New electoral maps – Ireland


There is no election scheduled in the Republic of Ireland for the next three years, but there is a good chance that the economic crisis may force an early election, and I have completed a Google Earth electoral map of constituencies in the Dail Eireann, the lower house of the Irish legislature.

The Dail includes 43 constituencies electing 166 deputies or Teachtaí Dála (TDs), with each constituency electing 3-5 TDs.

This map includes both the boundaries used for the 2007 election and the new redistributed boundaries for the next election between 2009 and 2012. I have coloured the old boundaries blue and the new boundaries red, so you can see the differences (although most constituencies remain almost entirely the same). Google Earth allows you to also turn off different layers to see the map differently. I’ve also included labels for each 2009/12 constituency, which also include the number of TDs to be elected at the next election.

You can download it here.

Liked it? Take a second to support the Tally Room on Patreon!


Comments are closed.