Elizabeth – SA 2018

ALP 9.9%

Incumbent MP
Lee Odenwalder, since 2010.

Northern fringe of Adelaide. Most of the population lies in the Elizabeth area, along with the suburbs of Hillbank, Salisbury Park, Surrey Downs, Fairview Park, Yatala Vale and Upper Hermitage and parts of Salisbury Heights, Greenwith and Golden Grove.

Elizabeth replaced the seat of Little Para. The seat took in the westernmost part of Little Para (Elizabeth, Elizabeth East, Elizabeth Grove, Elizabeth South, Elizabeth Vale and Elizabeth Park) as well as parts of Napier (Blakeview, Craigmore and Elizabeth Downs). The remainder of Little Para, including Salisbury Park, Salisbury Heights and Hillbank, was moved to King. These changes increased the Labor margin from 7.4% to 9.9%.

The electorate of Little Para was a renaming of the former electorate of Elizabeth in 2006, which had existed since 1970. The electorate has mostly been won by Labor MPs, apart from a period of independent rule in the 1980s.

John Clark won the seat in 1970, and then the ALP’s Peter Duncan won Elizabeth in 1973.

Duncan served as Attorney-General from 1975 to 1979, and resigned from Elizabeth in 1984 to run for the federal seat of Makin. He served as a federal minister from 1987 to 1990, and held Makin until 1996.

The 1984 by-election was won by Elizabeth mayor Martyn Evans, running as an independent Labor candidate. He was re-elected as an independent at the 1985 and 1989 elections, and rejoined the ALP in 1993. He served as a minister in the dying days of the Labor government in 1992 and 1993.

Evans resigned from Elizabeth in 1994 to run for the federal Bonython by-election. Evans went on to serve as a Labor frontbencher from 1996 to 2001. At the 2004 election, Bonython was abolished and Evans ran unsuccessfully for the federal seat of Wakefield.

Lea Stevens was elected at the 1994 by-election. She won re-election in 1997, 2002 and in 2006 for the renamed electorate of Little Para. She served as a minister in the Rann government from 2002 to 2005.

Stevens retired in 2010, and Little Para was won by the ALP’s Lee Odenwalder. Odenwalder was re-elected in 2014.


Elizabeth is a reasonably safe Labor seat.

2014 election result

Lee Odenwalder Labor 10,30047.0-4.249.2
Damien Pilkington Liberal 7,20132.9+2.930.0
Lloyd RowlandsFamily First1,9979.1-1.810.8
Samantha Blake Greens 1,4596.7-0.37.4
Scott WhelanDignity for Disability9544.4+4.42.6

2014 two-party-preferred result

Lee Odenwalder Labor 12,57357.4-3.959.9
Damien Pilkington Liberal 9,33842.6+3.940.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Elizabeth have been divided into three areas: central, north-east, and south-west.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, with just over 60% in the centre and north-east and 64.6% in the south-west.

The Family First vote ranged from 8.5% in the centre to 12% in the north-east.

Voter groupFF prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes12.155.25,02620.8

Election results in Elizabeth at the 2014 SA state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Family First primary votes.

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.