Cooper – QLD 2017

ALP 3.3%

Incumbent MP
Kate Jones, Member for Ashgrove since 2015. Previously Member for Ashgrove 2006-2012.

North-Western Brisbane. Cooper covers the Brisbane suburbs of The Gap, Ashgrove, Milton, Paddington, Red Hill and parts of Bardon and Kelvin Grove.

The seat of Cooper is a continuation of the previous seat of Ashgrove. Cooper gained Milton, Paddington, Red Hill and parts of Bardon and Kelvin Grove from Mount Coot-tha, and lost Enoggera and the remainder of Alderley and Gaythorne to Ferny Grove. These changes cut the Labor margin from 4.3% to 3.3%.

The seat of Ashgrove (now renamed Cooper) has existed since 1960. The seat was held by the Liberal Party continuously from 1960 to 1983 and has been held by the ALP continuously since 1989.

The seat was first won in 1960 by Douglas Tooth. He had previously won the seat of Kelvin Grove for the Liberal Party in 1957. He held Ashgrove until his retirement in 1974. He was replaced by John Greenwood, also of the Liberal Party.

In 1983, Greenwood lost his seat to the ALP’s Tom Veivers. Veivers held the seat for one term, losing to Liberal candidate Alan Sherlock in 1986. Sherlock again only held the seat for one term, losing in 1989 to Labor candidate Jim Fouras. Fouras had previously held South Brisbane for one term from 1983 to 1986.

Fouras was elected as Speaker of the Legislative Assembly in 1990, and held the position until 1996. He retired from Parliament in 2006.

Kate Jones won Ashgrove in 2006. After winning a second term in 2009 she was appointed as Minister for the Environment, Resource Management and Climate Change. She stepped down from the ministry in June 2011 to focus on her campaign against LNP leader Campbell Newman.

At the 2012 election, Jones was defeated by her LNP opponent Newman. Newman had served as Lord Mayor of Brisbane from 2004 to 2011, and resigned in April 2011 after being elected as leader of the LNP despite not holding a seat in the state Parliament. Newman became premier of Queensland following the 2012 election, serving until the 2015 election.

Newman lost the seat of Ashgrove to his predecessor Kate Jones in 2015, while his party also lost power.


Cooper is a very marginal seat, although its predecessor gained a special status in 2012 and 2015 due to the presence of Campbell Newman – the seat is likely to be much lower-profile in this election, but is still a vital seat for Labor to hold on to government.

2015 election result

Kate Jones Labor 13,37244.4+7.939.1
Campbell Newman Liberal National 13,12543.6-8.243.9
Robert Hogg Greens 3,04710.1+1.015.1
Connie CicchiniIndependent2790.9+0.40.5
Peter JeremijenkoIndependent2610.9+0.30.5

2015 two-party-preferred result

Kate Jones Labor 16,00954.3+10.053.3
Campbell Newman Liberal National 13,49845.7-10.046.7

Booth breakdown

Booths in Cooper have been divided into three areas: central, east and west.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 51.9% in the centre to 53.8% in the west.

The Greens vote ranged from 9.2% in the west to 23.3% in the east.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes15.153.111,24835.3

Election results in Cooper at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.