Bundaberg – QLD 2017

ALP 0.5%

Incumbent MP
Leanne Donaldson, since 2015.

Central Queensland. The seat of Bundaberg covers the central suburbs of the Bundaberg urban area, including Avoca, Svensson Heights, Thabeban, Kensington, Avenell Heights and Kalkie.

Bundaberg expanded slightly to the east and west. These changes cut the Labor margin from 1.6% to 0.5%.

The seat of Bundaberg has existed continuously since 1888. Labor held the seat continuously from 1896 until 2006.

Clem Campbell won the seat for the ALP in 1983. He held the seat until his retirement in 1998, when he was succeeded by Nita Cunningham.

Cunningham was re-elected in 2001 and 2004. In 2006 she resigned due to health issues. A by-election was not held, as Cunningham’s resignation prompted Peter Beattie to call an early election.

Bundaberg was won in 2006 by the National Party’s Jack Dempsey. Dempsey won re-election in 2009 and 2012.

Dempsey was defeated in 2015 by Labor’s Leanne Donaldson.


Bundaberg is a very close seat, and will be hotly contested by both sides. It’s one of the seats which will decide who forms government. It’s also a strong area for One Nation, who polled very well in the area at the 2016 federal election.

2015 election result

Jack Dempsey Liberal National 11,12841.4-11.741.9
Leanne Donaldson Labor 10,65439.7+16.038.4
Robert BrownPalmer United Party3,20811.9+12.012.6
Meg Anderson Greens 1,1124.1+1.24.2
Richard FreudenbergIndependent7462.8+2.82.4

2015 two-party-preferred result

Leanne Donaldson Labor 12,78351.6+19.850.5
Jack Dempsey Liberal National 11,98048.4-19.849.5

Booth breakdown

Booths in Bundaberg have been divided into three areas: central, north and west.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 51.4% in the north to 56.5% in the centre. The LNP won 53.4% of the two-party-preferred vote amongst the special votes.

The Palmer United Party vote ranged from 12.2% in the west to 14.3% in the centre.

Voter groupPUP prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes11.346.613,04841.8

Election results in Bundaberg at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Palmer United Party primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.

If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.