King – SA 2022

LIB 0.7%

Incumbent MP
Paula Luethen, since 2018.

Northern Adelaide. King covers Hillbank, Greenwith, Golden Grove, Salisbury East and Salisbury Park. The seat covers parts of the Salisbury, Playford and Tea Tree Gully council areas.

King contracted, losing its rural north-eastern fringe, including Bibaringa and Uleybury, to Schubert. These changes had no impact on the seat margin.

King was created in 2018 as a successor to Napier, but covers an area much closer to the Adelaide city centre.

Terry Hemmings won Napier for the first time at the 1977 election. He held the seat until his retirement in 1993.

Annette Hurley won Napier at the 1993 election. Hurley was elected Deputy Leader of the Opposition in 1997.

In 2002, Hurley switched to the marginal Liberal seat of Light in an attempt to bring the ALP closer to forming government. Hurley missed out, and thus missed out on serving as Deputy Premier in the new Rann government.

Hurley went on to win a Senate seat in 2004. She served on the Labor frontbench from 2005 to 2006, and completed her term in 2011.

Michael O’Brien was elected in Napier in 2002. O’Brien was re-elected twice, and served as a minister from 2009 until he retired in 2014.

Labor’s Jon Gee won Napier in 2014. Gee shifted to the much safer Labor seat of Taylor in 2018, and Liberal candidate Paula Luethen won King.


King is a very marginal seat. Luethen may benefit from a new personal vote, but it wouldn’t take much of a swing to tip her out.

2018 result

Paula LuethenLiberal8,93236.8-4.736.8
Julie DuncanLabor8,29834.1-7.034.2
Giles RositanoSA-Best4,51918.6+18.618.6
Damon AdamsGreens1,4125.8-0.65.8
Gary BalfortAustralian Christians1,1384.7-3.74.7

2018 two-party-preferred result

Paula LuethenLiberal12,32850.7+0.750.7
Julie DuncanLabor11,97149.3-0.749.3

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three areas: east, south and west.

The Liberal Party won a sizeable 55.7% majority of the two-party-preferred vote in the east, while Labor polled 54.4% in the west, and narrowly won 50.1% in the south. The Liberal Party also won 51.2% on the other votes.

The SA-Best primary vote ranged from 15% in the south to 20% in the west.

Voter groupSAB prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes20.051.25,70624.1

Election results in King at the 2018 South Australian state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for the Liberal Party, Labor and SA-Best.

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here