Frome – SA 2022

LIB 18.2%

Incumbent MP
Geoff Brock (IND), since 2009.


Rural areas north of Adelaide. Frome covers the Adelaide Plains, Clare and Gilbert Valleys and Goyder council areas, as well as a majority of the Light and Northern Areas council areas. The major towns are Clare, Two Wells, Kapunda and Jamestown.

Frome was dramatically redrawn, losing Port Pirie (the largest town in the seat) to Stuart and shifting south. Frome gained the Goyder council area as well as Kapunda from Stuart, as well as the Adelaide Plains council area from Taylor, Schubert and Narungga. These changes have increased the Liberal margin against Labor from 11.1% to 18.2%. They have also removed Geoff Brock’s strongest areas from the electorate, making it impossible to calculate a new margin for the independent MP.

Frome has existed in three incarnations, the first as a two-member district from 1884 to 1902, and then from 1938 to 1977 and from 1993 until today. The seat was Labor from 1938 to 1970, and Liberal from 1970 until 2008.

When Frome was restored in 1993, it was won by the Liberal Party’s Rob Kerin.

Kerin served as a minister in the Brown and Olsen ministries from 1995 to 2001, and in 2001 became Liberal leader and Premier six months before the 2002 election.

The 2002 election produced a hung parliament, and Kerin was unsuccessful in forming a majority.

Kerin continued to lead the Liberal Party in opposition, and led them to a landslide defeat at the 2006 state election. Kerin resigned as Liberal leader shortly after the election. He announced his retirement in 2007, and resigned early in late 2008, triggering the 2009 Frome by-election.

Port Pirie mayor Geoff Brock ran as an independent at the by-election, the main rival to Liberal candidate Terry Boylan.

Boylan topped the primary vote, with 39.2%, with the ALP’s John Rohde second on 26.1%. Brock was third on 23.6%.

While such a result would have made it impossible in most cases for a third-placed candidate to win, Brock received strong preferences from minor candidates, and overtook the ALP by 30 votes, allowing him to win comfortably on Labor preferences.

Brock has been re-elected three times.

Sitting independent MP Geoff Brock has shifted to the seat of Stuart.

In the absence of Geoff Brock, who will follow the voters of Port Pirie into Stuart, this seat is a very safe Liberal seat.

2018 result

Kendall JacksonLiberal7,92938.3+3.055.6
Annette ElliotLabor2,07710.0-2.420.0
Geoff BrockIndependent9,51646.0+2.17.5
Paul BirkwoodGreens6223.0+0.25.5
Cat ConnorDignity5562.7+2.70.9

2018 two-candidate-preferred result

Geoff BrockIndependent12,04358.2-1.2
Kendall JacksonLiberal8,65741.8+1.2

2018 two-party-preferred result

Kendall JacksonLiberal12,64861.1+1.368.2
Annette ElliotLabor8,05238.9-1.331.8

Booth breakdown

Booths in Frome have been divided into three areas: central, north and south.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 61.3% in the south to 79.% in the north.

Voter groupLIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes70.35,07622.5

Election results in Frome at the 2018 South Australian state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for the Liberal Party and Labor.

Become a Patron!


  1. Hmm, so I looked into this, thinking that I must have stuffed up somewhere, but this contradiction is in the original ECSA election results – I suspect they’ve transposed the 2PP figures. The 2CP was not Labor vs Liberal so the 2PP would have been conducted later without intense focus from scrutineers and parties so much easier for a mistake to slip by.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here