Lane Cove – NSW 2019

LIB 17.8%

Incumbent MP
Anthony Roberts, since 2003.

Lower north shore of Sydney. Lane Cove covers the entirety of Lane Cove and Hunters Hill council areas, as well as eastern parts of the Ryde council area, and a small part of the Willoughby council area. The seat covers Gladesville, Greenwich, Hunters Hill, Longueville, Linley Point, Putney and Woolwich and parts of Artarmon, East Ryde, Lane Cove and St Leonards.

The seat of Lane Cove first existed from 1904 to 1913. It has existed continuously since 1927. With the exception of a single election in the 1940s, it has reliably elected members of the Liberal Party and its predecessors.

The seat was held from 1930 to 1944 by Herbert FitzSimons, first a member of the Nationalists, then the United Australia Party. He retired at the 1944 election, and the seat was won by the ALP’s Henry Woodward. The election came at a time of deep division between conservative forces, and candidates stood from both the Democratic Party and the Liberal Democrats. Preference leakage allowed Woodward to win narrowly.

By 1947, the previously divided forces had united in the Liberal Party, and Woodward was defeated by Ken McCaw.

McCaw held the seat for the Liberal Party for the next 28 years. He served as Attorney-General from 1965 until his retirement in 1975.

The 1975 by-election was won by John Dowd. He served as Liberal leader from 1981 to 1983. He also served as Attorney-General from 1988 to 1991.

At the 1991 election, Lane Cove was won by Kerry Chikarovski. She served as a minister from 1992 to 1995, and as Liberal deputy leader from 1994 to 1995. She became Leader of the Opposition in 1998 and led the Coalition to a massive landslide defeat at the 1999 election.

Chikarovski was replaced as Opposition Leader in 2002, and she retired at the 2003 election.

Lane Cove has been held since 2003 by Anthony Roberts. Roberts has served as a minister since 2011.


Lane Cove is a safe Liberal seat.

2015 result

Anthony Roberts Liberal 27,78957.1-8.3
Andrew Zbik Labor 9,79020.1+6.1
Pierre Masse Greens 7,20314.8-2.7
Jim SandersonIndependent2,0294.2+4.2
Peter ColsellChristian Democrats1,0602.2-0.5
Irma Di SantoNo Land Tax7541.6+1.6

2015 two-party-preferred result

Anthony Roberts Liberal 29,45167.8-9.5
Andrew Zbik Labor 13,97232.2+9.5

Booth breakdown

Booths in Lane Cove have been split into four parts: Gladesville, Greenwich, Hunters Hill and Lane Cove.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 65.2% in Lane Cove to 74% in Hunters Hill.

The Greens came third, with a primary vote ranging from 11.4% in Gladesville to 18.6% in Greenwich.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Lane Cove18.065.211,53123.7
Hunters Hill11.574.06,30113.0
Other votes15.767.711,31423.3

Election results in Lane Cove at the 2015 NSW state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!


  1. The ALP Candidate in 2019 is the same as the candidate in 2015 – Andrew Zbik. The sitting member, Anthony Roberts, has displayed no signs of retiring!

  2. North Sydney federal electorate, Labor won’t win unless they take out Zimmerman, Lib hold, Though independents similar to keryn phelps could mix things up a little.

  3. Independent Richard Quinn may poll around 10% I think. Given his high profile as a former Mayor and as the lead campaigner against the Coalition’s plans to force council amalgamations.

  4. interesting looked at swings and lib 2pp from 1995 to 2005
    1995 -3.5 % 70.2
    1999 -4.9 57.4
    2003 -4.2 53.2
    2007 +9.6 62.4
    2011 +15 77.3
    2015 -9.5 67.8

    what do people make of this? I presume still liberal party retained……. appears boundaries changed in 1999 but have remained the same since then……….


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here