Kingston – Australia 2022

ALP 11.9%

Incumbent MP
Amanda Rishworth, since 2007.

Kingston covers the southern fringe of Adelaide and coastal suburbs to the south of South Australia’s capital, including Aldinga and Noarlunga. The seat covers a majority of Onkaparinga LGA and part of Marion LGA.

Kingston was first created in 1949, and in its seventy-year history has been a classical marginal seat regularly changing hands. The seat has been represented by ten MPs in the last seventy years, and every former Member for Kingston lost the seat at an election to the opposing major party. The seat has become much stronger for Labor over the last decade.

The seat was first won in 1949 by former SANFL football player Jim Handby for the Liberal Party. Patrick Galvin of the ALP won the seat in 1951 off Handby and held it for the next fifteen years. Galvin was himself defeated by Kay Brownbill of the Liberal Party in 1966.

Brownbill was defeated in 1969 by Labor’s Richard Gun. The party of government held Kingston from the 1972 election until 1998, with Gun winning re-election in 1972 and 1974.

Grant Chapman won the seat off Gun in 1975, and held the seat for the entirety of the Fraser government. Following his defeat in 1983 he went on to become a Senator for South Australia from 1987 until 2007.

Chapman was defeated in 1983 by Gordon Bliney of the ALP, who went on to serve as a minister in the Hawke and Keating governments. The seat was home to a challenge by Democrats leader Janine Haines in 1990, when she attempted to move to the House of Representatives. She polled over a quarter of the vote but failed to outpoll either major party. Bliney was defeated by Susan Jeanes in 1996, and Jeanes herself was defeated in 1998 before seeking a career in state politics, where she challenged Bob Such for preselection in Fisher, and Such was re-elected as an independent.

David Cox won the seat for the ALP in 1998 and held it until 2004, during which time he served on the Opposition frontbench. He was defeated in 2004 by former police officer Kym Richardson. Richardson was defeated in 2007 by Labor’s Amanda Rishworth, and Rishworth has been re-elected four times.


  • Rob De Jonge (Independent)
  • Robert Godfrey-Brown (One Nation)
  • Russell Jackson (United Australia)
  • Amanda Rishworth (Labor)
  • John Photakis (Greens)
  • Sam Enright (Federation)
  • Kathleen Bourne (Liberal)
  • Assessment
    Kingston is a safe Labor seat.

    2019 result

    Candidate Party Votes % Swing
    Amanda Rishworth Labor 53,655 50.6 +5.2
    Laura Curran Liberal 33,650 31.7 +5.6
    Nikki Mortier Greens 9,764 9.2 +3.4
    Jodie Anne Hoskin United Australia Party 5,270 5.0 +5.0
    Kellie Somers Animal Justice 3,742 3.5 +3.3
    Informal 4,547 4.1 +0.3

    2019 two-party-preferred result

    Candidate Party Votes % Swing
    Amanda Rishworth Labor 65,708 61.9 -1.6
    Laura Curran Liberal 40,373 38.1 +1.6

    Booth breakdown

    Booths have been divided into three parts: central, north and south.

    The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 59.5% in the north to 70.7% in the centre.

    Voter group GRN prim % ALP 2PP % Total votes % of votes
    North 9.8 59.5 36,555 34.5
    Central 9.8 70.7 17,279 16.3
    South 10.7 68.2 10,045 9.5
    Pre-poll 7.2 58.9 26,135 24.6
    Other votes 9.6 59.2 16,067 15.1

    Election results in Kingston at the 2019 federal election
    Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and primary votes for Labor, the Liberal Party and the Greens.

    Become a Patron!


    1. This seat has one of the biggest inflated margins since 2010 this used to be a competitive seat for most of its history along with Makin (formely bellwether). Possibly Amanda Rishworth and Tony Zappia are best performing local MPs

    2. Hi Nimalan

      Given the polls on a national level show preferences potentially going all over the place, who do you think would end up second here? Is the independent candidate well known?


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here