Greenway – Australia 2019

ALP 6.3%

Incumbent MP
Michelle Rowland, since 2010.

Western Suburbs of Sydney. Greenway covers the eastern parts of the City of Blacktown and some parts of Parramatta and Holroyd council areas. Suburbs include Lalor Park, Seven Hills, Blacktown, Girraween, The Ponds and Riverstone, and parts of Toongabbie and Pendle Hill.

Greenway was first created in 1984, and was held relatively comfortably by the ALP throughout the 1980s and 1990s.

The seat was first won by Russell Gorman in 1984. Gorman had previously held Chifley from 1983 until he moved to Greenway in 1984. He was succeeded by Frank Mossfield in 1996.

Mossfield retired at the 2004 election, and the ALP stood Ed Husic, while the Liberals stood Louise Markus. The ALP’s margin had been cut to 3% at the 2001 election, and in 2004 Markus managed to win the seat.

The 2007 election saw the seat redistributed radically, and the Liberal margin was increased from 50.6% to 61.3%. A swing of almost 7% was suffered against Markus, but she held on under the new boundaries.

The 2009 redistribution saw the boundary changes largely reversed, and the new margin saw Markus shift to the neighbouring seat of Macquarie, winning that seat off the ALP.

Labor councillor Michelle Rowland won the redrawn Greenway in 2010, and was re-elected in 2013 and 2016.

No information.

Greenway became safer for Labor at the 2016 election, but it could still be vulnerable to the Liberal Party when the party is stronger.

2016 result

Michelle Rowland Labor 43,72249.1+4.6
Yvonne Keane Liberal 30,65734.4-5.6
Aaron WrightChristian Democratic Party4,4845.0+1.3
Chris Winslow Greens 3,3513.8+0.1
Timothy MakLiberal Democrats2,9233.3+3.3
Avtar Singh BilluIndependent1,7492.0+2.0
Rohan SalinsFamily First1,2731.4+1.4
Vivek SinghaScience Party9241.0+1.0

2016 two-party-preferred result

Michelle Rowland Labor 50,16356.3+3.3
Yvonne Keane Liberal 38,92043.7-3.3

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three areas. “North” covers those parts north of the M7. Areas south of the railway line have been grouped as “South” with the remainder in “Central”.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 52.3% in the north to 63.1% in the south.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes53.79,93311.2

Two-party-preferred votes in Greenway at the 2016 federal election

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.