Colton – SA 2018

LIB 3.7%

Incumbent MP
Paul Caica (ALP), since 2002.

Western suburbs of Adelaide. Colton covers the suburbs of Fulham, Fulham Gardens, Grange, Henley Beach, Henley Beach South, Kidman Park, Lockleys, Glenelg North and West Beach.

Colton shifted south, losing Seaton to Lee and gaining West Beach and Glenelg North from Morphett and the airport from West Torrens. These changes flipped the seat from a marginal Labor seat with a 1.5% margin to a Liberal seat with a 3.7% margin.

Colton has existed since the 1993 election, and is the only seat to have always been held by the sitting government since that time.

Steve Condous, the lord mayor of Adelaide, won the seat in 1993 for the Liberal Party. He retained the seat by a narrow margin in 1997.

In 2002, Condous retired and was replaced by the ALP’s Paul Caica. Caica was re-elected in 2006, and was then promoted to the ministry. Caica served in the ministry until early 2013, and won a fourth term in 2014.

Sitting Labor MP Paul Caica is not running for re-election.

This seat has changed quite substantially, and this gives the Liberal Party a head start. They are also aided by the absence of the sitting MP. Having said that, Labor could certainly win this seat. The Nick Xenophon Team polled 22.6% here in the Senate in 2016, which was their fourth-lowest vote.

2014 election result

Joe Barry Liberal 10,36344.7+4.749.4
Paul Caica Labor 10,39444.8-1.539.6
Andrew Payne Greens 1,5846.8-1.47.5
Kym MckayFamily First8593.7+0.23.5

2014 two-party-preferred result

Joe Barry Liberal 11,26248.5+2.253.7
Paul Caica Labor 11,93851.5-2.246.3

Booth breakdown

Booths in Colton have been divided into three areas: east, north and south.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in two out of three areas, with 53% in the east and 57% in the south. Labor polled 52.2% in the north.

Voter groupLIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes53.85,83825.2

Two-party-preferred votes in Colton at the 2014 SA state election

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.