Ipswich – QLD 2017

ALP 16.0%

Incumbent MP
Jennifer Howard, since 2015.

South-East Queensland. Ipswich covers the central suburbs of the city of Ipswich on the southern side of Bundamba creek, specifically the Ipswich central business district, Woodend, Booval, Newtown, Eastern Heights, Raceview, Churchill, Yamanto and parts of Bundamba.

Ipswich expanded to the south, gaining Deebing Heights and other semi-rural areas from Lockyer, losing Yamanto to Ipswich West and the remainder of the suburb of Bundamba to the seat of Bundamba. These changes slightly increased the Labor margin from 15.9% to 16.0%.


The seat of Ipswich was first created in 1860, and existed continuously until 1960. It was restored at the 1972 election. The seat has been held by the ALP since 1983.

The newly restored seat of Ipswich was first won in 1972 by Llewellyn Edwards. He was appointed to the ministry in 1974. In 1978 he became Deputy Premier and Liberal Party leader, and continued in those roles until his retirement in 1983.

David Hamill won the seat for the ALP in 1983. He served as a minister in the Goss Labor government from 1989 to 1996. Hamill served as Treasurer in the Beattie government’s first term from 1998 to 2001, when he retired.

Rachel Nolan won Ipswich in 2001. She held Ipswich for four terms, and served as a minister in the Bligh government from 2009 to 2012, covering portfolios such as Finance, Transport and Arts.

In 2012, Nolan was defeated by LNP candidate Ian Berry. Berry served one term, losing in 2015 to Labor candidate Jennifer Howard.


Ipswich is a safe Labor seat.

2015 election result

Jennifer Howard Labor 15,90453.2+22.152.3
Ian Berry Liberal National 8,52628.5-7.328.5
Pat Walsh Greens 2,2457.5+1.97.6
Patricia PetersenIndependent1,7675.9-2.95.6
Tim StielerFamily First1,4384.8+1.74.6
One Nation1.0
Katter’s Australian Party0.2
Palmer United Party0.2

2015 two-party-preferred result

Jennifer Howard Labor 18,51765.9+20.166.0
Ian Berry Liberal National 9,58134.1-20.134.0

Booth breakdown

Booths in Ipswich have been divided into three areas: north-east, north-west and south.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 59% in the south to 70.5% in the north-east.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes61.98,18431.4

Two-party-preferred votes in Ipswich at the 2015 QLD state election

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.

If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.