Hervey Bay – QLD 2017

LNP 6.5%

Incumbent MP
Ted Sorensen, since 2009.

Central Queensland. Hervey Bay covers Fraser Island and areas on the eastern shore of Hervey Bay, including Point Vernon, Urraween, Pialba, Scarness, Torquay and Urangan.

Hervey Bay lost Dundowran Beach in its north-western corner to Maryborough.

The seat of Hervey Bay has existed since 1992. The seat was dominated by Labor until 2009 (barring One Nation’s win in 1998) but has been held by the LNP since then.

The seat was first won in 1992 by the ALP’s Bill Nunn. He had previously won the seat of Isis off the National Party in 1989.

Nunn was re-elected in 1992 and 1995 before losing in 1998 to One Nation’s David Dalgleish. Dalgleish left One Nation in 1999 to help form the City Country Alliance.

In 2001, Dalgleish was defeated by the ALP’s Andrew McNamara. McNamara was re-elected in 2004 and 2006, but was defeated in 2009 by former Hervey Bay mayor Ted Sorensen, running for the LNP. Sorensen was re-elected in 2012 and 2015.


Hervey Bay is a relatively safe LNP seat on paper, but is a strong area for One Nation.

2015 election result

Ted Sorensen Liberal National 15,31648.0-11.347.9
Tony Gubbins Labor 10,08831.6+10.431.6
Lynette PearsallPalmer United Party3,46910.9+10.910.8
Jannean DeanIndependent1,2163.8+3.83.8
Kristen Lyons Greens 1,1773.7+0.23.7
Axel BeardFamily First6692.1-1.72.1

2015 two-party-preferred result

Ted Sorensen Liberal National 16,33456.6-15.156.5
Tony Gubbins Labor 12,51743.4+15.143.5

Booth breakdown

Booths in Hervey Bay have been divided into three areas: north-east, north-west and south.

The LNP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 54% in the north-east to 6o% in the south.

The Palmer United Party came third, with a vote ranging from 10.4% in the north-east to 12.3% in the south.

Voter groupPUP prim %LNP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes10.258.613,97647.2

Election results in Hervey Bay at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Palmer United Party primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.

If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.