Everton – QLD 2017

LNP 2.0%

Incumbent MP
Tim Mander, since 2012.

Northern fringe of Brisbane. The seat straddles the border between the City of Brisbane and Moreton Bay Regional Council. The seat covers the suburbs of Oxford Park, Everton Hills, Albany Hill and parts of Mitchelton, Bunya, Brendale and Arana Hills.

Minor changes were made to Everton’s boundaries on four sides, with Aspley, Stafford, Ferny Grove and Glass House. These changes increased the LNP margin from 1.8% to 2.0%.


Everton has existed since the 1972 election. The ALP held the seat continuously from 1977 to 2012.

Gerry Jones won the seat for the ALP at the  1972 election. He lost the seat in a massive landslide to Joh Bjelke-Petersen’s National-Liberal government in 1974. Jones went on to serve in the Senate from 1980 to 1996.

In 1974 the seat was won by the Liberal Party’s Brian Lindsay. He served for one term before losing in 1977 to the Labor Party’s Glen Milliner.

Milliner held the seat from 1977 to 1992. Milliner became a minister in the Goss Labor government in 1989. In 1992 he moved to the new seat of Ferny Grove, and was succeeded by Rod Selford in Everton.

Selford had been first elected in the seat of Stafford in 1989 before moving to Everton in 1992. Welford joined the ministry when Peter Beattie became Premier in 1998. He served as a minister for eleven years, until he retired in 2009.

Welford was succeeded in 2009 by Murray Watt, who had previously served as Chief of Staff to Anna Bligh.

In 2012, Watt was defeated by LNP candidate Tim Mander. Mander was re-elected in 2015.


Everton is a marginal LNP seat.

2015 election result

Tim Mander Liberal National 14,60149.3-8.250.1
Jeff Frew Labor 11,91040.2+9.139.5
Aidan Norrie Greens 3,08410.4+3.29.8
Palmer United Party0.2

2015 two-party-preferred result

Tim Mander Liberal National 14,96551.8-11.452.0
Jeff Frew Labor 13,94448.2+11.448.0

Booth breakdown

Booths in Everton have been divided into three areas: central, north and south.

The LNP won over 50% of the two-party-preferred vote in two areas, polling 53% in the centre and 55% in the north. Labor won 56% in the south.

The Greens came third, with a vote ranging from 8% in the north to 13% in the south.

Voter groupGRN prim %LNP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes9.952.010,97331.6

Election results in Everton at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.